Nitrate reactors

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by NO3, 6 Aug 2013.

  1. NO3

    NO3

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Durban,Hillcrest
    It Seems there has been quite a large shift away from these wonderfull little machines?

    Why ?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. belindamotion

    belindamotion Google Master

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    4,803
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Pinetown,South Africa(KZN)
  4. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    They can be tricky to set up and I think people expect them to work the moment you plug them in. They are still in use, ask @Nemos Janitor , he swears by them.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  5. NO3

    NO3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Durban,Hillcrest
    But once set up with an mv controller they pretty failsafe!

    459b i think you 100% right!

    10 years ago i begged for one of these machines! When i got it it was a godsend and never looked back!

    But on the new tank was just looking at the options but seems to still be the best option.
     
  6. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    new tech will always replace old, but it doesnt mean the old stop working :)
     
  7. NO3

    NO3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Durban,Hillcrest
    Having a nitrate free tank just creates 1 less problem to worry about! Look i neva tried the bio pellets but tetra used to have a similar product back in the day and they worked and then you had to replace them, is it the same sort of vibe with the cubes?

    At what point do they become uneconomical to use because the volume of the tank is too large?
     
  8. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    well i run them on a 130L, 500L and a 2000L and i started at 1ml per L and so far the time i have to sit and just watch my tank is worth the cost. 2L cubes is cheaper than one reactor :)
     
  9. NO3

    NO3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Durban,Hillcrest
    LOL they are a bit exp! So you add 1ml per week/month?
     
  10. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    nope, dose at 1ml per L, then as time goes on and nutrient levels they start to dissolve and then just require a top up, this is when the NO3 start climbing, i usually add 50ml-100ml every 3 months or so
     
  11. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    Sorry.
    How or why would you want to setup an mv controller with them?
     
  12. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    thats how they work, the sulphur ones IIRC
     
  13. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    Sulphur ones I can understand.
    You need a very low flow going through them to work and breed anaerobic bacteria resulting in a very low PH of about 6 or 6,5 at the return. So yes, you would need a PH controller to regulate the PH in the water to raise it back to where it should be but to me and MV controller gives you a redox reading that is normally linked to ozone.

    So I would guess you would use an ozone reactor linked to an MV controller to push the redox back up to around 350, is that correct?
     
  14. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    i dont know, never used one and only read about them
     
  15. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    @459b is correct. I love nitrate reductors. Best thing since sliced bread. IMO

    The ones i use are carbon dosed and the flow through is controlled by a MV controller. The MV controller is set to -200. When the MV gos higher than -200 the flow through the reactor is reduced making the reactor more anaerobic. We always return the flow through the reactor to a high flow area in the sump to counter for PH issues.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  16. Wizard$

    Wizard$

    Joined:
    3 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    232
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    What about GFO reactors/stirrers? Don't they achieve the same thing?
     
  17. NO3

    NO3 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    26 Jul 2013
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Durban,Hillcrest
    @Quinton You cant operate a No3 reactor effectively with out an mv controller!!!!

    NEMOS JANITIOR i agree 100% but my question is why do peeps not see the same value that I/we Do in these machines! Which one do u use? send us a pic there!!!!!;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  18. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Pic from my SPS tank thread. Link under my banner.




    [​IMG]
     
  19. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    OK, what NJ explained makes sense.
    Usually we all try and push the redox levels up but in this case you want it down for the anaerobic processes. Makes sense.

    With a redox level as low as that you are forcing the bacteria to live on sulphur or nitrates producing their own oxygen and acid as a byproduct (hence the drop in PH).

    Only problem I can think of is power failures on these systems unless you have a backup as they need to be very well balanced... to much water flow and the bacteria dont consume the nitrates and sulphur to little water flow and they die off...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  20. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    GFO reactors are basically fluidised filters that remove Phosphates and silicates and are aerobic. Nitrate reductors are anaerobic filters that remove nitrates
     
  21. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Nitrate reactors Forum Date
Nitrate reactors Anything DIY Related 14 Oct 2009
Reducing Nitrates & Phosphates Water Parameters and Additives 28 Nov 2016
Nitrates too low? Water Parameters and Additives 4 Nov 2016
[wtd] Nitrate reactor urgently required for 600l tank Wanted 29 Sep 2016
[wtd] Boyu xq500 nitrate reactor Wanted 18 Sep 2016
Red Sea NO3:PO4-X (NOPOX) - Your Solution For Nitrate, Phosphate & Algae Management JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 1 Jul 2016
Red Sea NO3:PO4-X (NOPOX) - Your Solution For Nitrate, Phosphate & Algae Management JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 21 May 2016