Nitrate Reactor

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by carlrix, 6 Aug 2015.

  1. carlrix

    carlrix

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2015
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Hi,

    I have a 4 month old tank and the nitrate level is currently at 50ppm as measured using a Salifert test kit, the level was fairly consistent at 5-10ppm until about 2 weeks ago when it moved up to around the 50ppm range. LFS recommended NOPOX but also heard that a nitrate reactor is also a good option to reduce the nitrate levels.

    Have reduced amount of feeding but don't see a marked affect.

    Please advise regarding the NOPOX or reactor route. Thanks.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    carlrix likes this.
  4. madmatt

    madmatt

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    @Aquaria-SA
    Have nitrate remover
    Phosphate remover
    And NP reactors and pellets
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  5. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    nopox and vinegar are both sources of Carbon Dosing.
     
  6. 4age

    4age

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,546
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Cape Town
    you have to first identify the problem..how did the nitrates increase so rapidly? also what is your Phosphate levels? we often forget that there is a link between nitrates and phosphates..bacteria needs phosphate to consume nitrate and vice versa
     
  7. carlrix

    carlrix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2015
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    I had an outbreak of white spot on two of my clowns and treated the tank for 10days with Artemiss and Herbtana , the clowns unfortunately did not make it and were removed pretty much as they died.

    After that it seems the nitrate levels starting increasing but I have no idea if that is the case or even possible.

    I would need to check the phosphate levels.
     
  8. Hingis

    Hingis

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    424
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Roodepoort - Gauteng
    Did you do a decent water Change after dosing the herbtana?
     
  9. carlrix

    carlrix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2015
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Hi.

    I did a 10% water change.
     
  10. trad

    trad Fish, thats the word!

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    JHb South Linmeyer
    Do a bigger water change... sounds like the meds killed your bacteria

    and that's a big spike, have you cleaned EVERYWHERE in your tank?

    Remember with pellets you need a big skimmer so make sure that's working well. Should you perhaps top up the pellets?

    I wouldn't carbon dose from here... there must be a source you need to sort out, more carbon will just delay a blow out.
     
    Last edited: 21 Aug 2015
  11. Vilas

    Vilas

    Joined:
    28 May 2014
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Blythedale Beach
    I agree - water changes are the way to go here. And a bit of patience.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Nitrate Reactor Forum Date
[wtd] Nitrate reactor urgently required for 600l tank Wanted 29 Sep 2016
[wtd] Boyu xq500 nitrate reactor Wanted 18 Sep 2016
DIY Nitrate Reactor? Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 4 Dec 2014
Nitrate reactors General Discussions and Advice 6 Aug 2013
Phosphate/Nitrate reactor Location in Sump Water Parameters and Additives 28 Aug 2012
Looking for Nitrate & Calcium reactor General Discussions and Advice 8 Aug 2012
bio pellet reactor or phosphate and nitrate reactor Beginner Discussions 4 Nov 2011