Nitra-guard "bomb" still have phosphates

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by Fishie, 23 Nov 2013.

  1. Fishie

    Fishie

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenstone
    Hi All,

    I have been using Nitra-guard original and titanium together and this has dropped my nitrates to 0 very effectively, I still detect phosphate at 15, not sure if this has to do with the Redfield ratio but would like some advice on how to remove the phosphate from the system, any ideas ?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. williet

    williet Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    Hi there

    You will need a phosphate medium to remove the excess of phosphates in your tank. How did you measure 15??
     
  4. Fishie

    Fishie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenstone
    A correction to the level of Phosphate is at 0,18. Can I use another PO4 absorption media whilst using the Nitra-Guard ? Will the media even work if it is a redfield ratio issue ?
     
  5. williet

    williet Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    What are your nitrates?
     
  6. Fishie

    Fishie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenstone
    Nitrates indicate 0, Red Sea test kit
     
  7. williet

    williet Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    No worry about red field you can now introduce p04 media
     
  8. Fishie

    Fishie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenstone
    Ok that's great, phosban, or any better suggestions, and thanks for the info !
     
  9. Bendor

    Bendor

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Pietermaritzburg
    I used the Orca Labs "Phospha Guard" I think. Worked a charm. Mate of mine used Phosban, also very good results.

    Are you going to run it in a reactor as a fluidised medium? Best surface area exposure and no clogging.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Nitra guard bomb Forum Date
How to Build a Nitra-Guard BIO-Cubes Bomb Jungle Aquatics 18 Jul 2012
Urgent help needed Nitra Guard Bio Cubes corals closing Urgent Help Needed 13 May 2015
Nitra guard bio cubes ► Sponsor Request Forum 22 Aug 2014
Orca nitra guard bio-cubes Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 24 Feb 2014
Nitra-Guard Biocubes OR Algae Scrubber Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 13 Aug 2013
Nitra guard cubes in a Malawi tank help please Fresh Water Tanks Discussion 26 Jul 2013
ORCA Nitra Guard supplier in Pretoria area? ► Sponsor Request Forum 19 Jul 2013