newbie with anemones

Reaction score
my bio is simple... i love all animals and own a variety. its definately something id love to do for a living... working with them i mean...

im very new to marine life. My tank was given to me by a friend who no longer wanted it.

my tank is a 250 l with at least 10 pieces of med/large LR, a blue yellow tailed damsel, 2 green cromise, a domio damsel, a few hermit crabs and (the creatures im trying to learn about quickly) 2 carpet anemones and a magnificent

i have a hang on via aqua protein skimmer, a crushed coral substrate bottom and a small pump moving water around.
lights are 3 30w extra day high glow (akwa) and 1 30w marine blue at the back. is this enough?
the tank is 50cm deep.
the temp is 25 degees, nitrate is a little high, nitrite and ammonia are 0, the ph is very high (8.8) and i cant seem to get it down even with water changes.

the fish are all fine... healthy and eating well, even the carpets are doing well but the magnificent keeps blooming then dropping into near nothingness then blooming again.
i dont know what is wrong.

calcium is 450 and i filter feed them with sera marine coraliquid and occasionally some small pieces of prawn/shrimp/hake if hes up.

any advise would be great. im really just starting and i need to know more about them to keep them happy.

oh, the tank is also just a year old.

thanks again

I am just going to welcome you, you appear to be on the ball.

Suggest just reading as much as possible on the forum, can also just google or search the forums.

Cheers

:welcometomasa2:

Great to have you on board the best forum in the world!!
First off....Pics! We need pics to beter help you.
Secondly your lighting is way too weak for nennies!! T5's atleast.
Thirdly, Did you know that corals play chemical warfare on a daily basis.There for your filtration needs to be very efficent to handel all the extra toxins!(You could have a total tank loss if a nennie dies.They are that toxic in water.)