Hey there people

I am new to the whole marine game.
I recently purchased a second hand tank with the following specs

1200 x 600 x 500 - tank has a overflow on the side permanently mounted
500 x 500 sump
1 x pump
1 x heater
1 x power head
3 x lights (i think it is 2 x coralsun and 1 x oceansun)
I am guessing +/- 7kg of LR in tank
some weird dead looking "tube type rock" or something in the sump +- 5kg and all other filter media in the sump.
No skimmer

What I want to ask is what do i need to make this tank exceptional. i want to attach a fuzzy pic of the tank. And some pics of the stuff i have found in the sump(some spongy thing) and i am guessing anenomes, but i dont know how to upload the photos into the threads.

Any help will be greatly appreciated

aha...thank for the help....by the way what type of anenome/coral is this...like i said i am a beginner

Welcome to MASA!!

masahello

The bottom pic shows a rock/flower anemone, DeeJayCee.... it is a common anemone that you get on our coastline. Found in both warm, as well as cold waters....
It is not a common anemone/clown fish hosting anemone.
The 1st one might just as well be one of them too... not 100% sure.

The bottom pic shows a rock/flower anemone, DeeJayCee.... it is a common anemone that you get on our coastline. Found in both warm, as well as cold waters....
It is not a common anemone/clown fish hosting anemone.
The 1st one might just as well be one of them too... not 100% sure.

agreed as far as i kow (under correction ) they are not hosting nennies....as for the 1st pic...no idea, wher did yo get it

I found it growing in the sump....it is still very small, the size of a 50c roughly

hello deejaycee, welcome to MASA:)

always nice to see new guys starting up:) I have little to add to what jacques said with regards to the id of those.