Newbie fungas on rock

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Chris Makings, 26 May 2013.

1. Chris Makings

Chris Makings

Hey everybody,

I am new to this and I do have one other thread at the moment about my tank.

I got a Aquaria AMW102 Nano Aqurium.

MY problem I have at the moment is on one of my live rock I have a fungas( I think its that) growing on it, The store I got it from said it is normal but I am not sure about it.

YOu can see in the photo below

Any input if it is normal or not. Tank has been running now for 4 we

eks,

Ammonia is 0
    Nitrate is extremly low amost nothing
    Nitrite have not tested

yet
    PH is 8.1

I test my water once a week and will be stesting again tonight.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. 459b

459b Moderator MASA Contributor

Marine fungi are extremely uncommon. that looks more like algae. Is normal for a cycling tank and should go away in time.

4. Chris Makings

Chris Makings Thread Starter

Hi 495b,

Thanks for the input, I was just concerned that if i do add more of the same live rock it mighjt spread and then I have more of a problem.

Also I want to know if I should add white T5 lights to my tank as I currently only have blue lights that I got with the tank?

I am planning on keeping coral.

5. Chris Makings

my water paremeters as tested today is
    Ammonia 0
    Nitrate 5
    Nitrite is 0
    PH 8.3

Nitrate has jump abit:(

6. Dorry

Dorry dorry

Hi Chris, how long is your tank been running. That is algae growing, add all your live rock you want to and and let your tank go threw its cycle stage. Normal for the algae to grow, get turbo snail, hermit crab they will clean your tank. For sps you need more than blue lights if you want to keep sps you need led for nano tank. More flow in the tank. Go to forum and reed all about corals.

7. HOT SAUCE

HOT SAUCE

Hi Chris.