New to the Aquarium World

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Jusman18, 16 Aug 2010.

1. Jusman18

Jusman18

Hey guys,

I am finally happy to announce that I am a newbie to the aquarium world. More specifically to the salt water world.

I have tried the fresh water tank hobby out before, when I was very young, and it ended in a disaster, purely because of lack of understanding and knowledge, not cycling the tank and just loading it with as many goldfish I could afford with my pocket money at the time. After burning my fingers from that, I have steered CLEAR of keeping fishtanks for many years. The bug has bitten again, I am older, eager and fortunately, have the Internet to do the many months of research I have been doing to finally be compfortable in this new attempt.

I have managed to find a second hand Boyu TL 550 tank for a really good price of R2500. The guy I am buying it from has upgraded to a red sea 250 and is keeping his fish, but has been kind enough to give me his water and live rock, which is covered in purple algae, which I heard is excellent. The migration begins this coming Saturday. I have found a nice place that sells water containers (Mr Plastic fourways) sells some nice buckets, like paint buckets, which I am going to use to move the live rock. They also have 25L containers with screw on lids, which I will use to transport as much of the water as possible.

I have arranged to buy the remaining water to fill the tank from the local pet shop. I think because I am basically losing 50% of the original water, I will leave the tank to cycle for a few weeks before I start adding the cleaning crew to the tank.