New to Reefing

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Gizzymomo, 2 Sep 2012.

1. Gizzymomo

Gizzymomo

I am completely new to marine tanks and just need some input.

I purchased this amazing tank second hand it included all the items in the pictures below.

All I know about maintenance so far is changing 15% of the water every 2 weeks, with the water cleaner ( ARO System I think it's called ) from the tap and mixing it with the salt.

Now I would like to have a reef tank ( corals etc ) not just the live rock and more fish etc. The tank has built in T5's.

Is this system any good? Any changes you would recommend?

Also what fish can I add without issues with what I currently have?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: 2 Sep 2012
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Gizzymomo

Gizzymomo Thread Starter

61 views and not one response..

4. Ayoob

Ayoob

welcometomasa

5. ScottK

ScottK

Welcome to MASA. I would have said welcome earlier but it took half the day to open the images :lol:

6. ScottK

ScottK

The system looks like a good start but is missing one or two elements. I don't see any mechanical or biological filtration. Here are some suggestions:

1. Look at investing in a protein skimmer
    2. It looks like you have a lot of sand or settlement on your live rock, try and blow this off.
    3. You need some form of biological filtration. It looks like you have some bio balls in the baffle in your sump but that probably won't be enough. Do some reading on DSB's, Bio Cubes or NP pellets.
    4. That floss looks quite dirty and is going to end up being an issue if not replaced on a regular basis.
    5. Is that RO unit new? The DI Resin chamber on top looks a bit mucky from the pic. Do you have a TDS meter to test the quality of the water coming out?