New to Reef Tanks

Discussion in 'New Members' started by TanyaB, 24 Jun 2014.

1. TanyaB

TanyaB

Hi all,

I am VERY new to reef tanks.
    Only started on the 30th of May and already have 2 tanks - IM Nano 24 and a Nano 8. The Nano 24 has 2 clownfish (they do not look the same to me one is like Nemo and the other is more yellow), a cleaner shrimp, a snail and a hermit crab. The Nano 8 has 2 Clarkii clownfish and a royal dottyback. The last fish I had was 4 goldfih about a year ago and they died in the first week:(.

I would like to know how long should I leave the lights on, how many times a day should I feed the fish and how frequently must I do water changes?

Sorry for all the questions.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Gesiggie

Gesiggie Challenge accepted

Hi @TanyaB
    Welcome to Masa.
    Great to see so much enthusiasm in our hobby.
    Please post some pics for all the picaholics :)

Did you start both systems from new? Did you finish your cycling?
    It is advisable to do a parameter check before adding any livestock.

I have a nanocube 24, with lights running from 10:00, to 20:00.

The clowns can handle feeding twice a day, although I have added an autofeeder, feeding pellets 5 times a day, and I feed flakes once a day.

Water changes are highly debatable. Some aquarists are against doing changes, but dose extra supplements, others vary from once a month, to once a week. The general rule of thumb is a 10% change when you do do a water change. I do 10L on a 110l system every 2 weeks (if I remember)

All the best with your systems.

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Hello and welcome TanyaB