New to Marines

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm completely new to marine aquaria. I have had a fresh water for a while, when the kids were still in the house. I have always wanted a marine qauarium and recently salvaged a tank from one of my clients (size 1200lx450wx450h) and then bought a new tank (1200lx450wx600h) and decided to use the old salvaged tank as a sump. Trevor Brooks from International Aquatics converted it into 4 equal compartments. I still have to build the stand and buy all the required things for setting this up. The big tank has a 50mm diameter hole in a small triangular compartment for the overflow.

What I need to find out is how deep the sandbed must be if all the compartments in the sump are the same size? What size pump I need and all the other things I need and need to know to get this going.

Hennie

Welcome !

DSB should not be anything less than 10cm's... Have you drilled your tank? Have you got a skimmer? Are you setting up a refugium?
Where in Randburg are you based? I'm near the Cresta shopping centre...

Welcome Hennie. X is right about the DSB depth

Good day.
Your deep sand bed must be between 15cm and 18cm.
Make sure your compartments are build in sutch a way that the water flows over the crused coral and do not fall onto the gravel in such a way to disturb it.
yor return pump can be anything from about 1900l per hour.
Regards Nico

hello hennie :)

great to hear that a long time dream is finally comming together :) and salvaging old tanks sounds like a great idea. Bath water (fresh water) and marines are somewhat different and there is a steep learning curve to start, but fire away with your questions and we will do all we can to help.