New to Marine, New Tank. Intro and Advice needed

Discussion in 'New Members' started by zippy320, 6 Feb 2011.

1. zippy320

zippy320

Hi Guys

Just an Intro from me.
    Im Really new to Marine Tanks, I do have experience in Freshwater, I currently have 5 tanks of which 1 is now the Marine , the others are Freshwater of which one is a Discus tank.

Well I picked up my tank from a seller yesterday, Purchased if from him complete (i think)
    His mom said that he had run it for 4 years .

Took everything from him including the water.

Its a marine tank , Juwel Rio 300, 350ltr
    With a Tetratec 1200 external cannister filter
    2 Powerheads
    And all the Standard Juwel Equipment for this tank.
    4 X T5 lighting 2 blue and 2 white
    In it i have 6 fish,
    1 Yellow Tang
    2 Orange clownfish
    2 Yellow clownfish
    1 Dark blue Angelfish
    Live rock with one or two soft corals stuck to it.

Iv set everything up and all seems good, When Transporting the tank home , we did not strip the tank clean, Kept the filters intact,the sand (i think its sand? looks like coral bits) in the tank.
    removed water (used same water)
    Removed live rock .

I really am new to Marine Tanks so some of my questions may seem trivial.

Since filling the tank and having it settle, then introducing the fish,
    1 : Tiny Star dish like things? Colour looks white, thay look like starfish , what are they? Theres about 20 this far on the glass,Crawling to the top.
    2 : Centipede like White wormy looking creatures on the back of the juwel filter and some on the live rock.
    3) a black slug like thing on the live rock that when touched contracts.
    4) Some tiny snails.

Ill post up a few pictures later today (fish are sleeping?)

Any idea off hand what thay could be?
    Im going to try and take things really slow with this tank. Its gonna be one long learning experience for me.Its not colourfull but the fish are :)