New Tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Hennie Thorburn, 12 Jan 2011.

  1. Hennie Thorburn

    Hennie Thorburn

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South-Africa, Gauteng
    Hi all

    I have started a new tank about two weeks ago.
    All is good, I have a few pieces of live rock and the usual things you get with them.
    And last week I introduced two clowns.

    About two days ago a brown algae appeared in the tank, and it is spreading really fast over my substrate and live rock.

    I hear that this is normal, but it looks bad, will this kill any of my little things growing on my live rock? What can I do to keep the algae down to a minimum?

    Thanx
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Welcome to MASA

    The brown algae (most likely diatoms) is a normal during cycling. It will go away in time and shouldnt harm any of the life on your liverock.

    Fish should not have been introduced so soon. Tank shold be cycled and parameters stable before adding any livestock.
    CAn you please tell us more about your tank..ir size, lighting etc.
    What are your parameters (nitrates, phosphates, ammonia, salinity etc)
     
  4. Anemone

    Anemone

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA - Chicago Area
  5. Hennie Thorburn

    Hennie Thorburn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South-Africa, Gauteng
    Hi thanx for the speedy reply!!!

    I have converted one of my 3foot tanks into marine.
    I know it is a bit small, but I wanted to make sure that marine is the right thing for me.

    So my tank is a 3 foot with glass sliders on the top.
    I have an internal filter on the left of the tank, it is a built in glass filter.
    Then I have a 700mm X 300mm tank that I used to make my sump.
    The sump is not up and running yet, it is a deep sand bed sump.
    I have the crushed coral, sand and water in it already, with a powerhead circulating the water.

    I am busy making an overflow box, as my tank is not drilled.
    I am just about done with the overflow box. I just need to drill some holes in the one that goes in the water.

    As soon as the whole system is up and running I will move my skimmer (one of the ones that hang on the side of a tank) and heater to the sump.

    I have two T5 globes running at the moment, one blue and one white.
    I want to add two more by the end of this month.

    I took a water sample to my local marine pet shot. They tested my water and said my ammonia and nitrate levels were a bit high. They recomended a product that would bring the levels down, not too sure of the name of it now, I will check when I get home. i know it is made by Serra.. PH was 100% and salinity was perfect.
    As far as phosphates and all the other things... I am not too sure of the measurements.

    I was thinking about adding two shrimps this weekend.
    One of my friends suggsted that I add "Cycle" to my tank to help it get going.
    I added the "cycle" the second day. All seems ok with the two clowns.
    I was thinking about adding a Regal Tang next month. Would this be a dab idea?

    Thanx
     
  6. Q89

    Q89

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Swakopmund
    :welcome6:

    Pictures are always very welcome;)
     
  7. Hennie Thorburn

    Hennie Thorburn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South-Africa, Gauteng
    How do I add pics??
    I think I might have two or three on my phone.
     
  8. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    adding any more livestock now would be a bad idea. When it comes tomarines its best to take things slowly. Rather do it right to begin with otherwise you will spend many weeks and even more $$$ fighting to get your tank pristine.
    I suggest you find a temporary home for the fish and only put them back once youve done all the work on the tank and got the sump up and running.
     
  9. gaboon

    gaboon

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Welcome. Don't rush things. A tank takes a minimum of 4 weeks to cycle. You can add things to speed it up but being a beginner dont cut corners and do things the traditional way for now. Please dont add any more livestock right now and definitely do not add a regal tang ever to a tank that size. The tang police will be out to get you.;)
     
  10. Anemone

    Anemone

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    USA - Chicago Area
    I agree, don't add any more livestock. Ammonia is very toxic to fish. You will likely have another spike.

    In my opinion, a Regal Tang needs at least a 4' tank.
     
  11. Hennie Thorburn

    Hennie Thorburn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South-Africa, Gauteng
    I have a 4foot , but it is an oversize 4 foot.
    It is a very deep tank, and being so deep, I don't want to spend a small fortune on lights.

    Anyone who can help me out with posting pics?
    I tried, but it said I need some security key or icon or something like that.
     
  12. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
  13. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Hello and welcome

    Remember, only bad things happens fast in a marine tank. All the good things takes time.

    So its way out too soon to add livestock. OK you got 2 fish already. Just keep it with those two. I suspect that adding livestock too soon, will anyway prolong your cycle. Cycle is all aout getting the tank and the life in the rocks stable. Adding poop generators too soon, and on 2 fish, anybody will overfeed. Will just add more strain on the balancing act.

    No point in doing thigs too fast, and thereby killing them. The pleasure is in keeping your tank alive.

    Anyway, enjoy this hobby. I do
     
  14. Hennie Thorburn

    Hennie Thorburn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South-Africa, Gauteng
    The ugly pipe will be gone soon. So just make as if it is invisible. lol

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    are the pics taken before the algae started appearing?

    What size pumps are those?
     
  16. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    have you taken out some of the crushed coral? First pic theres only crushed coral as substrate, then looks like youve added finer substrate.
     
  17. Hennie Thorburn

    Hennie Thorburn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South-Africa, Gauteng
    Yea the pics are the birth of the tank.
    The algae started on Sunday afternoon, and it is spreadding very quickly.
    It looks different every day.

    I will take some pics tonight.
    and add them tomorrow.
     
  18. Hennie Thorburn

    Hennie Thorburn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South-Africa, Gauteng
    Oh and the pumps I have in there are tiny things, just for circulation.

    Yes I removed some of the really coarse crushed coral and added finer coral and a really fine layer on top.
     
  19. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    good, all the corse stuff does is trap detritus.

    when you take pics tonight can you take pics of your sump/overflow/skimmer as well.

    What are you planning on keeping? You want fish only or you going t otry some corals as well?
     
  20. Hennie Thorburn

    Hennie Thorburn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South-Africa, Gauteng
    I will be sticking to fish.

    I have heard that corals are tricky.
    I will be getting the odd soft coral here and there.
    My brother in law has a beautiful tank, full of life.
    I will be getting some things from him.

    I want to convert my 4 foot.
    But it will be very expensive.

    Does anyone know where I can get good cheap T5's??
     
  21. inflames

    inflames

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    923
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Randparkridge (Johannesburg)
    Welcome to MASA boet!
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Tank Forum Date
Macro algae in display tank - Yes or No? General Discussions and Advice Yesterday at 12:40
My 300lt Tank Medium Tanks Friday at 22:45
Any tanks for sale in Port Elizabeth Area. Wanted 24 Nov 2016
Recommended HW for 100L tank? General Discussions and Advice 20 Nov 2016
Tank Builder Anything DIY Related 17 Nov 2016
Brads Peninsula tank Large Tanks 17 Nov 2016
Advice Needed for Sale of Tank General Discussions and Advice 16 Nov 2016