New Tank Idea, Please Help.

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Raboebi, 19 Aug 2012.

1. Raboebi

Raboebi

Hi Guys,

Been a rough week for me trying to figure out what tank I want to buy. I am on a budget of under R6000. Not only that space is also a bit of a factor, so my idea is to create a nano tank that can stand on a desk. So I don't have so many choices. But here is what I have for now:

ADA Cube Garden 60x30x36 Starphire Tank
    Reef Octopus BH-1000 Hang on Back Skimmer
    Reef Octopus MF-300b Beginner Multi Media Reactor
    2 x Seio 320 Powerheads

Jager Heater
    Sand and Liverock
    I would like to keep 2 Black and White Clown Fish, some Blue Legged Hermit Crabs and some Cleaner Shrimp.

What do you guys think? I was playing with the idea of maybe swapping the Multi Media Reactor out with a Reef Octopus 14 Hang on Back Refugium.

I am a complete noob so any advice would be very very welcome.

Thanks

Rabz

Last edited by a moderator: 19 Aug 2012
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Jayceew

Jayceew

Good start so far.

I would keep the media reactor as it might be more important in such a small tank to focus on filtration instead of the refugium. You have enough space in the tank for nice liverock, with the livestock you plan to keep a refugium wont be a necessity in my opinion.

Last edited: 19 Aug 2012
  4. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Cube means a square footprint (normally). Is this ADA cube 60cm long, 30 cm front to back and 36cm high? Extremely narrow for nice rock placement. But can work if that shallow.

Anyway 6000 for such a small tank is a bit much. Their was some nice TL550 nano cubes in the for sale section the last couple of weeks. Maybe spend some time there.

5. Goby

Goby

Rather look at getting yourself a cube, maybe 500x500x500 or 600x600x500. Will advice you to get a sump running with that and a internal skimmer(TS1 Skimmer is a cheap and good option). Hangon skimmer will spoil the view.