New Setup

Discussion in 'New Members' started by JAJA, 11 Jan 2010.

1. JAJA

JAJA

Hi everyone

I have been keeping fresh water tanks for many years now with a keen interest in discus keeping. I live in CT in the southern suburbs.

After reading up on all the info on the site I eventually got round to converting one of my existing tanks for marines. Tank dimensions are 1.6x0.56x0.6 high (used to fit into a cabinet in my office) and holds approx. 500litres.

To start with I had the tank drilled 50mm and installed a corner overflow chamber with a 32mm durso pipe system which is working fine with no noise. The durso pipe slots loose into a socket in the base and can be swopped with larger diameter systems to accommodate various return pump flow rates.

I completed initial the setup over the past weekend and the basic setup includes a 70litre refugium tank that I made using an old 0.9x0.3x0.3 tank. This houses a reeftek ts2 skimmer, 300w heater, live rock section and in sump return pump (4500L/HR).

I am using my previous lighting system of 8 x T5 lights (2 blue, 2 red/pink, 4 white) for now. As the system progresses I will add MH and moonlight LED's.

The tank has two SunSun 5000L/HR pumps with 30kg of bali live rock and 10kg of fiji. After landscaping I am going to need another 20kg of rock to complete the setup which I will add over the next week or two.

I plan to let the tank cycle for 6-8 weeks before adding livestock.

At this stage my questions are;

1. Is there any preferred sequence to adding livestock such as snails, hermit crabs, shrimps, etc, first before fish?
    2. I am looking for a quiet return pump and wave pumps as I find my current equipment very noisy- any suggestions?

Will add pics later.
    Alan

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Annoying

Annoying