New / old tank setup

chikaboo

Flame Angel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
4,986
Reaction score
48
Location
Newcastle - KZN
Hi guys i'm back - hows every 1 keeping - was missing chatting to every1 - i was comtemplating sumthing - since my last mishap with topping up with NSW - i want to check with everthing b4 introducing more livestock - i am busy loading sum pics so i need your'lls 2c advice - will appreciate all i can get busy with this today the whole day so please bear with me - thanx
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
613
Location
Sandton
if i can help, i will
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
613
Location
Sandton
welcome back too
 

chikaboo

Flame Angel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
4,986
Reaction score
48
Location
Newcastle - KZN
ok lets start with main tank dimensions length 1930cm x 620cm high x 600cm deep then water flows into a 600cm high x 500cm length x 160 deep 3 chamber tank (side of main tank) then falls into the sump with 990cm length x 500cm deep x 260cm high
 

dallasg

Moderator
Joined
14 Dec 2008
Posts
16,850
Reaction score
613
Location
Sandton
sounds interesting
 

chikaboo

Flame Angel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
4,986
Reaction score
48
Location
Newcastle - KZN
In my original setup i on the floor i had 25mm pipes with slots in them all connected to 5 uplift 32mm pipes with 10cm airstones in them - must i get rid of this or not?
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
You do not NEED airstones in marine tanks, IF your water surface is agitated enough by HUGE water flow inside your tank. Also - the skimmer supplies MORE than enough air to oxygenate the water thoroughly.....
So - YES - you can remove this....

BTW: have you now sorted your issue with the water salinity COMPLETELY, Chikaboo?

Were you able to get hold of a better skimmer and RO machine perhaps?
 

chikaboo

Flame Angel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
4,986
Reaction score
48
Location
Newcastle - KZN
Ok as for The RO water spoke to the water shop i need to know - the 5 stage Ro filter system for kitchens is there no way to tap of there for the fish?
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
You can put in a T-piece and 2 taps out of the outlet, Chikaboo..... So, I presume that this is RO only, right? Not that it is a problem at all....
No DI stage to it?

BUT, were you able to get some RO water for in the "meanwhile"?
 

chikaboo

Flame Angel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
4,986
Reaction score
48
Location
Newcastle - KZN
Yes from Oasis not bad price 80c a litre but i think over time it will b too expensive hence me looking for the units - i bought 100ltr for time being
 

chikaboo

Flame Angel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
4,986
Reaction score
48
Location
Newcastle - KZN
ok bout the pipes and airstones i think let me show your'll a pic then your'll know what i'm talking bout
 
Last edited by a moderator:

chikaboo

Flame Angel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
4,986
Reaction score
48
Location
Newcastle - KZN
Hi these r the pumps i had inside 2 x heto pumps 3 x viaaqua - so 5 in total turning the water inside the tank





148449705c500fcff.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

chikaboo

Flame Angel
Joined
2 Jan 2009
Posts
4,986
Reaction score
48
Location
Newcastle - KZN
ok what bout this crushed coral can i use it or i have sea sand lots of it as well - must i use that in sump?
14844970608bdfa63.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Top