New Member

Joined
8 Sep 2008
Posts
172
Reaction score
0
Location
middelburg
Hi everyone

I have a 55 gallon FOWLR marine aquarium.I started about 4 months ago and hope you can assist me with lots of problems

christ
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,910
Reaction score
1,419
Welcome Chris, shoot with the questions, lots of people here to help you and get you back on track :)

Show us some pictures of your tank and sump.
 
Joined
8 Sep 2008
Posts
172
Reaction score
0
Location
middelburg
well thanx alot,where to start,first of i have got a lot of red algae growing,can u tell me why?
 
Joined
8 Sep 2008
Posts
172
Reaction score
0
Location
middelburg
sorry no pics yet but i got a cannister filetr with a via aqua multi skimmer
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
well thanx alot,where to start,first of i have got a lot of red algae growing,can u tell me why?
It is called Cyano Bacteria and it because of high phosphate and/or silicates. This probably due to overfeeding but can also be due to bad filtration (natural/mechanical) and bad flow.

Give us some specs and pics of your setup and we get a better idea of what's going on.

PS: this is not difficult to whip ;)
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
sorry no pics yet but i got a cannister filetr with a via aqua multi skimmer
How much Live rock (kg's) do you have ?

What is your flow like in the tank ?

How many and what fish do you have ?

How often do you feed your fish ?

Do you run any sort of phosphate remover ?
 
Joined
8 Sep 2008
Posts
172
Reaction score
0
Location
middelburg
Sorry no pics with me,well i have a cannister filter(dolphin c 1000),via aqua multi skimmer,about 5 kgs live rock.I change about 25 litres of freshly mixedx water every fortnight.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
Sorry no pics with me,well i have a cannister filter(dolphin c 1000),via aqua multi skimmer,about 5 kgs live rock.I change about 25 litres of freshly mixedx water every fortnight.
Flow ? what powerheads ?

Livestock ?
 
Joined
8 Sep 2008
Posts
172
Reaction score
0
Location
middelburg
sorry new at this,a cascade 600 inetrnal filter,only got some flagtails i got from someone until the tank settles down,no power heads,do i need some and how much gph?
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
sorry new at this,a cascade 600 inetrnal filter,only got some flagtails i got from someone until the tank settles down,no power heads,do i need some and how much gph?
When you say flagtails are you talking about Blue/Regal/Hippo Tangs ?

Look like this ?

200_9265.jpg
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,910
Reaction score
1,419
Ok, let's slow down a bit.

Chris, give us a full list of what equipment you have on and in the tank.
 
Joined
8 Sep 2008
Posts
172
Reaction score
0
Location
middelburg
okay,hang on via aqua multi skimmer,dolphin c 1000 cannister filter,cascade 600 internal filter,four ugly flagtails.some small tubeworms,snails lots of stuff i dont know yet trying to find out still,got 2 3ft fluorescnt tubes 10000 k 39 watt each
 
Top