Reaction score
Hi guys,

Just came across the forum yesterday and spend the rest of the day on it :)

I am completely new to the hobby (except for a few tropical tank a few years ago) and will be researching for a month or 2 before starting to get a reef tank together.

The forums looks awesome, so much info!

I'll maybe go check out some of the pet stores close to Pretoria this weekend to see what tanks they have. Im looking for a nice stylish tank and cabinet to start with new and then I'll add the rest of the equipment on, maybe some second hand if there's some good deals around. :) Which stores are the best in the Pretoria area? I've seen some marine fish etc at Animal Kingdom at Atterbury Value Mart, but I'm thinking I'll check out Dorry's that I read about here yesterday.

Just one more question (that I'm sure Ill be able to get answered some other thread but there's so much :tt2::
Should I get a sump with 4 compartments if I want to put a skimmer in from the start to fight the algae? I saw some skimmers that clip on the side of the tank as well, which is best? I want to try and do it right from the beginning.

Looking forward to reading a lot more today and getting a plan together.

Cheers

Welcome to MASA!!

Should I get a sump with 4 compartments if I want to put a skimmer in

it all depends on what you plan on keeping and what filtration you plan to have. Try and keep the sump and filtration as simple as possible, generally a three compartment sump is more than enough. Have a look at the Members tanks, decide what you ultimately want to keep and then design sump/fitration around that..and of course take your budget into consideration.

Cooling

Thanks guys,
I think I understand the sump better now that I have read some of the Beginner threads. I will stick to the 3 compartment.

For the guys close to Pretoria: Do you typically have a problem with the tanks getting too warm? Iow, should I budget to get a cooler?

Hi and welcome to MASA.:thumbup: