New Member (Nano Nuvo 16)

Discussion in 'New Members' started by cm101, 28 Aug 2015.

1. cm101

cm101

Hi Everyone

Brand new to marine and nano reefs, been diving for a couple of years and I'm ready to bring a reef into my home :m01:

I will begin a new thread in the Nano section once I begin with the build. For now I would like to introduce myself and the setup I have purchased.

I managed to source a Nano Nuvo 16 tank which I will be picking up tomorrow. The tank is a 60l and comes with all the internal filters etc as well as 2 LED's. The plan is to create a nano reef with some clown fish, cleaner shrimp and hopefully one fine day a mandarin (wishful thinking). The seller has been kind enough to include the below items in the sale.

20Kgs Seachem Reef Salt
    30Kgs Live Rock
    6.8Kgs Argonite Live sand
    Seachem Stability Control

Being a noob I would really appreciate any advise on the equipment I have purchased and starting points to get the tank operational.

Once again really glad I found this forum and looking forward to interacting with everyone throughout the build thanks again.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

Hello and welcome cm101
    Was the tank still running or was it shut down? The live rock, still under water or left to dry?

4. CharlieB

CharlieB

I know it's been said before but I might as well say it again. Read read read and read some more. Then ask Lots of questions :) lots of info on this sight! Take things slow and research something before you want to try it or add it to your tank. Look forward to your build thread.

5. cm101

cm101 Thread Starter

Riaan the tank wasn't running for a couple of months, the rock was dried up too..

CharlieB I learned the hard way :( used tap water instead of RO water last night. Added a thread on the water section and got feedback almost instantly! Needless to say the tank is up and running again with RO water and the correct salt mixture.

6. CharlieB

CharlieB