New Member Introduction - Our journey thus far

Discussion in 'New Members' started by athol@irender.co.za, 23 May 2011.

1. athol@irender.co.za

athol@irender.co.za

Great portal guys and girls, and glad to introduce myself to all the fellow reefers.

I am Athol Phillips, and I reside in Centurion with my lovely wife Shirley. I am a Business Owner of a company called iRender which specializes in providing Software Design Solutions to the Architectural and Interior Design market. This includes SketchUp, AutoCAD and the Artlantis Rendering application.

OUR JOURNEY THUS FAR

We previously ran a Fresh Water (bath water) tank for a few years until we relocated to a new home. We decide to take our set up with us to the new location because we have always wanted to switch to a marine tank. Well, eighteen months passed, and our old empty DT stood in our entrance hall catching moths and dust. In November last year, my good lady gave me an ultimatum, sell the whole DT, or go marine tomorrow. I took the plunge and we got cracking with all the new requirements.

At the time we started with the new marine set up, I was pleased to learn that Dorrey Pets had just relocated their premises to Centurion, which was great news for me. The service that I have received from both Lanzo and Dewald has been most professional. They also have the cleanest DT's that I have seen in any LFS so far.

We did not rush into the process, but rather adopted a slow and calculated step by step set up of the new environment, which has paid off hands down.

[​IMG]
    Early days - just added Salt Water and some Live Rock

Our DT is 1,800x800x600 - about 800 litres including the three compartment sump below. I have run a fair size DSP from start up, and also implemented a Reef Octopus 160 Extreme In-Sump with Bubble Plate Skimmer which has performed well to date.