New member, Alan

Discussion in 'New Members' started by ALANVR, 25 Feb 2008.

1. ALANVR

ALANVR

I have been keeping freshwater tanks for many years now with a special interest in discus. I am now building a new house and want to add a marine tank as a room divider which will be viewed from both sides. This will be in 8 months time so for now I am doing my homework and looking for advise on the best setup for me. As this is my first venture into marine tanks I want to start with a system that I can expand on as I gain experience.

The tank will be 2m long by 1m wide. I have been advised to limit the water depth to 800mm so that 12mm glass can be used as thicker glass will distort the viewing of the contents.

If anyone has a similar sized tank I'd appreciate some advise before I proceed further with equipment, etc.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Mike

Mike Retired Moderator

Hi Alan, i have moved you to start your own thread, welcome to MASA, hopefully Kanga will be along with his sketch-up techniques to help you on your way.:)

4. DragonReef

DragonReef

Welcome Alan :D

2M x 1M x 0.8M is a great size :thumbup:

5. Warr7207

Warr7207

Welcome, you have come to the right place to get that Reef tank going.

Agree with DR 2M x 1M x 0.8M is a great size :thumbup1::thumbup1:

6. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

Hi Alan! AWESOME tank size man! Ok - here are some caveat emptors to look at with your proposed setup:
    - You will need to keep all your filtering equipment, at the bottom of the tank, most likely, and you will MOST likely then look at an in-sump skimmer.
    - IF you can, I would want to suggest getting a 2 metre sump tank built as well - with a really decent sized Deep Sand Bed filtration system