New Mated Pair

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have a question that I would like to ask you guys as I am quite new to the Clownfish breeding community.

I bought a mated pair of Occelaris(spell check) clowns. The guy who I bought them from said that they were laying eggs every full moon.

Its still early days in my new breeding tank that I have set up. I decided to seperate them from my display tank as I thought they would be more comfortable like that.

I have put a Clay pot, Live rock, tile and ceramic pot in the tank so that they have lots of places to lay eggs etc.

I feed them a mixture of frozen foods and pellets(other suggestions would be great)

My question is, how long should I expect to wait before my new clown start laying eggs.

Is there anything else I can try to get them to lay eggs?

Thanks guys, Your help is always appreciated.

Lance

Light 10 hours
Water temperature 28 degrees
Spell check: OCELLARIS;)
Feeding three times per day
They should spawn twice per month. Usually five days after the last hatch they should spawn again.
They spawn in the afternoon and if they spawn on a Monday, they will hatch the following Monday night (8 days by 28 degrees).
They could spawn within the next few weeks or next few months. Who knows. Dealing with nature is sometimes a bit unpredictable.

They could spawn within the next few weeks or next few months. Who knows. Dealing with nature is sometimes a bit unpredictable.
Yip, when a regular mating pair are moved to a whole new environment they may take a few months before they start laying again, I moved my pair of Percs from an 8ft tank to a nano and they took a good 4 or 5 months before they started laying again. :(

Light should be switched via timer. Tank can be empty with just a pot in it.
Moon light is not needed. I don't know where the fullmoon story is coming from.