New Malawi Fish Tank Setup

Discussion in 'Fresh Water Tanks Discussion' started by craig isaacs, 20 Jun 2014.

1. craig isaacs

craig isaacs

Hi Guys

Im very New to this game so here I go!

Im just purchased a Tank, a Boyu TL550 120 LITRE Marine Tank , he has a Protein Skeemer as well .

I would like to start putting in some Fish , only Malawi Fish for Now.

Can anybody please advise me on the steps to follow , from Start, like water add and what equipment to buy to make sure the water level is correct before I put in the fish etc etc

please let me know , Thanks

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. carlosdeandrade

carlosdeandrade

Not many guys on here that deal with fresh water fish. Why not try our sister sight Tropical Aquariums South Africa I am sure you will get better help there.

4. Trevs

Trevs

Plus you won't need a protein skimmer!

5. Fred d

Fred d

Malawi's like a ph of around 8 , temp of 26 - 28 and lots of spirulina foods ...
    just be careful with overstocking as territory and aggression can become an issue in a hurry , specially in a tiny tank like a tl 550 .

If I may ask , do you have a marine setup ...
    why do you wanna put these creatures into a tl550 ...

6. Ebi Omer

Ebi Omer

Malawis grow quick and might outgrow your tl550 very quick.

7. Ebi Omer

Ebi Omer

The tl550 is an easy plug and play for Marines. Try some easy saltwater fish perhaps. Clowns. Damsels etc

8. SilverWolf

SilverWolf

I wouldn't even bother going cichlids as even your demazoni's which stay small needs to be in a group of 20+ to eliminate out aggression. You will not fit 20+ in a tl550

9. 4age

4age

Tank way too small for malawis

10. Snoek

Snoek