New little slice of ocean

Reaction score
Hey guys and girls.

A couple of years back I use to have a marine system. As I was a student i could not afford to keep it running as i would have liked to. Seeing thou that has changed i decided to take the plunge again and set up for the second time. Its only a small system as I don not want a massive system like the previous one.

The specs are as follows: DT 600 x 450 x 450 and ive got a very small sump 300x300x300 that houses my Reeftek TS1 and titanium boyu heater and return pump.

Ive bought 13 kg of fiji live rock which i think looks absolutely amazing and with my skimmer, hopefully is enough filtration wise. Any input on this will be greatly appreciated.

As for substrate I've bought 10 kg of crushed coral. Looks way more natural to me than arragonite. Personal taste and way cheaper :thumbup:

As for lighting, I am currently using a light fitting that was over a freshwater tank of mine. Will have to upgrade it as I add coral. Lighting unit contains 2 x 14w 10000k t5 and two blue actinics. Maybe thinking of going LED but I dont have any experience with them. Maybe even halide as i want too keep a few sps corals but all this will be revealed with time.

As for circulation I have 2x SEIO prop 320 (1200LPH) and one SEIO prop 530 (2000LPH).

Now for you pic freaks as I see you love them so much::yeahdude:

IMG-20120401-00691.jpg

IMG-20120401-00684.jpg

IMG-20120401-00683.jpg

IMG-20120331-00679.jpg

IMG-20120331-00678.jpg

Tank has been cycling for about two week snow. Did a couple of test earlier and everything seem to be on track as cycling goes. Ammonia basically on 0 and nitrate and nitrite also very low. Going to give it another week and then start stocking the tank. :1:

looking good man! You say you want to keep sps later on, so you should consider a NP reactor or zeovit reactor to control your nutrients as you dont have the space for biological filtration