New journey

Discussion in 'Nano Tanks' started by MarcVanJ, 7 Oct 2013.

1. MarcVanJ

MarcVanJ

hey all

so i thought i might share with you my 1st salt water tank. i have done fresh water for over 2 years now and im board of it so i decided to use all the left over equipment lying around to create this. i built the tank from scratch using left over glass and the stand from left over wood i had. the light is a recycled light from one of my planted tanks. its a beam works and my research shows that it should be sufficient for soft corals.i have disconnected the 3 blue LED's currently for my fresh water setup so will reconnect them when i start this tank i have never done salt water before so any advice or help would be awesome.

im unfortunately only going to be filling the tank next year but i though i would start a thread and get it going.

tan spec is 4mm glass 30x30x39 and holds 35ish L. i will be using a 4ool/h or more hang on filter as well as an internal filter with a spraybar. i will be using a sunsun powerhead low flow i think 1500l/h have not decided this yet. 50w short heater and thats it so far. using argonite sand and live rock. want to keep zoas and tourches. is this a good idea? i want to keep a firefish goby as well as a shrimp of some sort and some snails and hermit crabs. what are you guys thoughts on this.

here is what i have so far :

[​IMG]

i am aiming for this look: (rocks wise)

[​IMG]

what do you think?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. HOT SAUCE

HOT SAUCE

by the looks of thing you have the light issues covered once you add the blue lights it will be fine to keep all sorta of corals

are you gonna have a sump. I would advise you to build one. with your diy skills shouldn't be a problems. having a sump will add water volume allowing you to keep a fish or two more and will also hide all the equipment form the display tank.. it also wont cost you really much.