New CPT Member

Discussion in 'New Members' started by LCornelius, 23 Jul 2010.

1. LCornelius

LCornelius Moderator

Hi all,

I have been a member / forum lurker for the last year and a half.
    My apologies for only introducing myself now.

I’m a network engineer from Durbanville Cape Town. I fell in love with the ocean from a very young age. I almost drowned in the ocean as a 6 year old, but that did not change my views. I grew up surfing and diving and still enjoy visiting the 2 oceans aquarium ;)

I have one other expensive hobby, I play and collect guitars. So my wife suggested I start a marine tank as a hobby (I think to get me away from guitaring and metal). :thumbup:

I used to keep tropical fish, but as a teenager guitar rocking was way cooler than fish :yeahdude:

So I found the forum a year and a half ago and never stopped coming back!
    Without asking a single question I have learnt so much, so a big thank you to all the regular members for their posts!

Ok, so this is what I want to accomplish: have 3 different tanks in my house. I know I know, baby steps. This is a big project and one that needs time, allot of time! I understand that this is an expensive hobby and I’m prepared for the challenges and effort required. I have never started anything in my life without finishing it.

I would like to start out with a 1000 to 1500 liter display tank. I have learnt from the forum that bigger is better. This tank needs to be the main display tank, with corrals and lots and lots of nemo’s and dories. I’m a huge clownfish fan. :)

Once I have that experience (2 to 5 years) I would love to keep Lionfish in one tank and seahorses in another. I know, big dreams.

My plan is to start with the main tank in January 2011. This should leave me with enough time for planning and saving up for the tank. I’m planning to visit Dorry Pets in CPT in the next 3 weeks and introduce myself to Frans.

Cheers,
    Lean

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Singularity