new!confused!help

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by kylestanley, 16 Dec 2008.

1. kylestanley

kylestanley

hello all,
    i am very new to marine tanks and i am adamant that i am going to start a tank, come hell or "salt"water...ha ha ha...
    but i have a million questions, the most basic is where to start?
    i have given myself december to learn and research, and heve the grand intention of starting my tank in jan or feb.
    I have scoured the net and some books, tried to decipher everything and im still confused!!
    so pls help!!
    where do i start?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Apollo

Apollo

Hi Kylestanley,

Well, the best place to start is to decide what tank you would like to have. There are many options available to you insofar size is concerned.
    Smaller tanks generally speaking have the drawback of instability in terms of water temperature , water chemistry etc. This does not mean however that you should not look at a smaller tank. Many members here run small tanks very successfully.

A large tank's drawback is mostly financial.

What do you envisage keeping . Fish only with LR , Reef tank etc. ?
    The critters & livestock you keep are determined by the type of setup and also in some cases the size of the tank.

A good start is to perhaps look at the Boyu or Nanocube's. They offer a great deal for your money.

Keep your questions coming.:thumbup:

4. scubaninja

scubaninja

welcometomasa have a look in the new members sections, there are a lot of questions there that are probably the same as yours and will save you time. have a look at the tank of the months and some of the matured tanks to see what you are looking for and it will help point you in the right direction.

5. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

A very WARM WELCOME to MASA, Kyle! I am very glad that you found us! This is the absolute best place to come and learn!

Here are a few pointers to start off with: