New, clueless, eager

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Riekert Botha, 20 Jan 2016.

1. Riekert Botha

Riekert Botha

Like so many on this forum I am totally new to the world of aquariums. However, I have been fascinated by the sub-surface world since I was a newly divided egg (I think). Now I'm on the verge of purchasing a 200cmx60cmx60 marine tank/system with almost everything that opens and closes.

Or should I?

The systen I am looking at from phuturelabs include:
    Rock work / live rock
    Snails crabs urchins worms star fish
    Fish
    Coral
    Nitrate reactor
    uv steriliser
    Kalk reactor
    auto top off

Are there other offers/possibilities? What could one expect for R50 000 (for example).

Any advice would be welcome!

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. TaahirS

TaahirS MASA Contributor

Welcome to MASA. Powerlab do great builds. I'm sure you'll be happy with it if you buy it.

tekkengal likes this.
  4. EFJ

EFJ MASA Contributor

Hi and welcome to MASA. The marine road is an exciting world but an addictive one, enjoy the ride. With that budget you can get a pretty decent setup. Normally I would suggest starting out small to get to grips with this hobby first as it can throw a couple of curve balls. I have seen guys spend quite alot on a setup and then a couple of months down the line realise that reefing is not for them (due to various reasons) and then sell off everything for less than half of what they paid. I am not trying to scare you but rather research, research and more research before you spend alot of cash. There is plenty of options big and small and equally good looking tanks.

Guardian and tekkengal like this.
  5. tekkengal

tekkengal Moderator

masahello

+1 on what @EFJ said :)
    It is very difficult to say whether the tank is a good buy or not as there are other factors that need to be taken into account like:
    1. Age of equipment (e.g. older sun sun pumps will shock the life out of you)