New Boyu TL-550 Whats the best plan?

Discussion in 'Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice' started by marinet&t, 29 Jun 2009.

1. marinet&t

marinet&t

Hi All,

Well I am a newbie, so here goes,

I recently bought a Boyu TL-550.
    With the deal I got 4 kg of Kenya LR.

I far as I know I should take out all of the filter media that came with it. My plan is to go to my LFS and buy ready made water also to get some Purigen, Chemi-pure-elite and RowaPhos as filter media for the back of the unit.

The plan is to put filter floss in the 1st unit, the original protein skimmer in the 2nd unit, the Purigen, Chemi-pure-elite and the RowaPhos in the 3rd unit and then the heater and the pump in the 4th unit. Should I add LR to one of the back units? If yes, is this absolutely necessary?

I know I should get more LR, but how much more is sufficient for the DT for biological filtration. 10-15kg? I don’t like the look of it being overcrowded by rock.

I also looked at a power-head / pump of 2400l/h would this be ok for the tank size.
    The boyu pump that I looked at; I think I should be able to place it in the back part with the flow of it in the DT. Don’t really know if this is going to be possible, but I think it’s going to have a cleaner look.

I don’t plan on changing the lighting or anything ells – is this set-up going to be ok and what kind of corals would I be able to keep?

What make of test kit would be ok to begin with?
    I have also heard that only strontium supplementation is necessary for a begin and not calcium.

With so many different inputs on these topics I would appreciate some unified advice.

Many Thanks
    MarineT&T

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. RUAN

RUAN

masahello

4. werner5

werner5

hi there and welcome to masa the best marine site

welcometomasa

5. Jaak

Jaak

Welcome to MASA!!

6. FransSny

FransSny

welcome marinet&t

if I am correct your tank has an volume of about 130 L (not an expert on the Boyu models) aim for 1 KG / 10 LTR.