New and overwhelmed - but confident

Discussion in 'New Members' started by barryahern, 25 Aug 2014.

1. barryahern

barryahern

Hi All.

Name is Barry, and I'm completely new to keeping a tank in general, let alone a marine tank. I have lived by the sea my whole life and fished in premier leagues, always having a very keen eye on marine ecosystems, tag and release, and various environmental initiatives. Naturally, when I was introduced to the possibility of keeping a living ecosystem in a tank, I was SOLD!

So I bought my first tank, second hand, with a 5 compartment sump.

Tank is 1500mmX500mmX600mm with rounded front corners and a central back overflow box with plumbing down to the sump.

My questions are:
    1. Many information sources draw distinction between small, medium, and large tanks, and the ecosystems elasticity to change based on the size of the tank. So a small tank would be highly variable because a change would be faster acting over a small body of water than it would a larger one. So my question would be...would my size tank be considered small, or medium?

2. I have not got a light source yet. Does living rock photosynthesize by the light source we provide, or is it just coral that need that light source?

3. I believe via my research thus far, that corals and Anemones should only be added to a mature tank post 6 months. So idealistically, should an individual start with a sea sand bed (I read you don't need it...but really), followed by a considerable amount of living rock for a month, then maybe some hardy fish, and then finally corals and Anemones?