New 3ft Marine mixed reef

JDV

Reaction score
Hi All

Thought I will share my new build I am busy with. I have been collecting things for -+ 6 months now and finally started to fill with Salt water Yesterday.
I work in CPT CBD so everyday for the next 2 days I will be taking water home from the 2 oceans aquarium. The other thing I should mention
that almost everything in this tank is second hand. The only things I got new was things that is not really worth buying second hand or can't find.

Specs:

Tanks: 900x500x500 - Second hand
Sump: 910x300x320 - Second Hand
Stand: Galvanized - Second hand
Glading for stand: Marine-ply - Second hand
Return pump: Jecod DCT-6000 - Second hand
Lights: 2x Fluval Glo 39w Dual T5's - Second hand.
Light Frame: Build with Stainless steel and powder coated black. - DIY New
Skimmer - Reef Octopus int 150 - Second Hand
Jump net - new

Here is some pics. the idea with the light frame is to build my own hybrid light. Still need to save for LED's so these light will have to do for now.
The idea is to get some Radion XR15's or Kessels.

JDV

Reaction score
So the last few foto's is from the weekend, doing leek testing after doing the plumbing.
My dead rock has been cycling in one of these big plastic bins you get from the plastic shop
for the last month or so, I have been adding Seachem stability to help with the cycle.

Last edited:

RiaanP

Reaction score
Tank looks great, does not look secondhand at all.

Reaction score
Nice looking tank congrats, I agree with @RiaanP it doesn't look used at all.

Nice African Chichlid tank you have next too it too

Last edited:

viper357

Admin
Reaction score
Best of luck with your tank, must be exciting after waiting so long.

JDV

Reaction score
Hi All

Bit of quick update. I got the tank up and running over the holidays. rocks was cycling in a bin for 4 weeks with Stability.
Ammonia and Nitrites was 0 Nitrates was on 50 after the 4 weeks.