NeoZeo: My Experience

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by Manic, 14 Jul 2010.

1. Manic

Manic Moderator

Hey Everyone,

So with the N-P Reducing Bio Pellets on the market I decided to give them a go. I've been running the full Brightwells NeoZeo systems for 5 months now and decided before I switch over I'll share my experience with the products and the method as a whole.

The Setup

Firstly an introduction to my tank is in order.

Tank Size: 900mm x 900mm x 600mm (Total System Volume: 550L)
    Live Rock: 30Kg of fully cured live rock, was running in old system for a year
    Base Rock: 27Kg of Carib Sea Base Rock
    Substrate: 40Kg Figi Pink Aragonite
    In tank flow: Vortech MP40W (Short Pulse Mode), 2 x 5000Lph SunSun, Resun Waver 15000. (In tank turnover 82X)

My sump contained my skimmer, zeo reactor, heaters and return pump. Nothing else.

Skimmer: Orca 135 with enkamet mesh modification (Rated to 1200L, now its only rated to 900L)
    NeoZeo Zeolith Reactor (DIY)

There was no dsb or refugium in my sump and my filtration relied solely on the reactor, skimmer and live rock.

Once the tank was filled with water and live rock the NeoZeo method was implemented. The starting procedure for the method was to place 1Kg of zeolith media in to the reactor per 100g of system volume and to start dosing a bacteria strain (MB7) at 15mL/100g every week.

Routine

After two weeks of running the system and pumping the reactor every day or two, the carbon source dosing began. My choosen carbon source was vodka due to the cost of using reef biofuel. The method for dosing vodka is shown below:

• 0.1ml of vodka per 25 gallons of net water volume per day for 3 days
    • Days 4 to 7 – double the dosage
    • Each week after, add an additional 0.5ml regardless of tank size
    • When the NO3/PO4 starts to drop – maintain the current dosage
    • When the NO3/PO4 are undetectable – half the dosage