Need some help

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Michael11, 4 Jun 2013.

1. Michael11

Michael11

So i am from the TASA side and was wondering about converting one of my tanks to marine. I have no clue about what the tank consists of but i am not a complete dumass when it comes to keeping fish haha. I am running a 1000l kenelworth built aquarium aswell as a 500l which i am changing for a 640l soon. I am a student currently and would like to know what all id need to convert to a marine tank when it comes to hardware and what price im looking at used hardware aswell as what water conditions are required when it comes to cooling or heating the water.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. the fish

the fish

hi and welcome to MASA. which one of the 2 systems are you planning on converting? will be easier for us to help you on what protein skimmer to get. lighting requirements. all those things. the difference between going from bathwater to saltwater when it comes to a top-up we use RO water and not normal tap water. your heater is same as for freshwater. a chiller can be used to help control the temp for when the water gets to hot. some of the parts like your skimmer and lights can be a bit expensive. depending on what you are looking on going for ie. LED's, T5, MH or even a combination of T5 and MH or T5 and LED. some flow pumps can also be really expensive. normally the sponsors will post about new equipment that is coming in or what is already here and in stock. also can check the for sale section of the forum to see what goods you can buy from there. good luck with the new hobby. hope you have a gr8 time here with us:peroni:

4. Michael11

Michael11 Thread Starter