Need help with sump

Joined
14 Sep 2007
Posts
69
Reaction score
0
Location
Strand CT
Hi i am running a sump with 4 compartments 1st compartment filled with hair curlers 2nd house my skimmers pump 3rd outlet for skimmer and chicken bone size arragonate and the last is the return to main tank

Is this setup good or not.

The tank is a 1.2m with some corals and a few fish planning in filling it with sps later on.

i want to ged my sump write before then.

Need help Please
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
153
Reaction score
1
I'd take out the hair curlers.... How big is chicken bone size , and is this your DSB?
 
Joined
14 Sep 2007
Posts
69
Reaction score
0
Location
Strand CT
plus minus pinky size. i wont call it dsb its only about a kilo

I want to remove the curlers but they are full of tube sponges and some tiny tube worms.
 
Joined
14 Sep 2007
Posts
69
Reaction score
0
Location
Strand CT
Thanks Mekaeel

Sorry no pic i have just changed the sump with a 3ft, 3 compartments 1st inlet from tank and skimmer 2nd DSB 50mm deep and 3rd compartment return to tank will post pic later

i also aded a light to my sump ,must it be turn on 24x7 or only at night?
 

Alan

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
5,974
Reaction score
123
Location
KZN
This sounds much better, run the light in the sump reverse cycle to your tank and see if you can get hold of cheato to put on top of DSB. What substrate did you use for your DSB?
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
153
Reaction score
1
Try and get the DSB a bit deaper though, at least 10-15cm
 
Joined
4 Sep 2007
Posts
678
Reaction score
4
Location
Johannesburg
Try and get the DSB a bit deaper though, at least 10-15cm
what's the deepest you should go with a DSB (or is the deeper the better)?
 
Joined
7 May 2007
Posts
842
Reaction score
3
Location
Jo'kwane
as deep as you can. over time the aragonite desolves so the depth off the dsb will go down.
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
I think that I have read on Advanced Aquarist that the DSB should not be deeper than +-18cm... not sure how true this is.... Otherwise I believe that the whole process of aerobic bacteria converting the ammonia/nitrites to nitrates, and then the deeper you go into the DSB, where the oxygen has been used up, the anaerobic bacteria is supposed to convert the nitrates to nitrogen and ogyxen.

I believe that this requires some water flow (not a lot though - I presume very slow water movement) through the DSB media (top to bottom, and then bottom to top again) that the water that comes out at the top again, is nitrate free.... I can only presume that if the DSB is TOO deep, that the water flow does not work as it should anymore....
 
Joined
2 Sep 2009
Posts
64
Reaction score
0
Location
jhb north
what do i put on top of fine mess so that the sand does not go thru in dbs
 

Similar threads


Top