Need help with RO unit

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by jimboPE, 19 May 2009.

  1. jimboPE

    jimboPE

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Hey I was wondering if anyone could help.I purchased a RO unit today but when the tap is fully open nothing still comes out?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I also have a question on my new skimmer i swapped for a smaller skimmer i bought last week.It is rated for 1200l tank mine is 665l and sump about 100l.Do u guys think i should run the skimmer continously and then just dose with trace elements or run the skimmer maybe for only half the day?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Jimbo! WOW! AWESOME skimmer man!

    No - run the skimmer 24/7!

    You will be FAR happier!

    Awesome! You got yourself a RO filtration unit! Good show man!

    The pipe on the right hand side of the bottom horizontal filtration unit - should actually be connected to the LEFT HAND SIDE of this unit (the pipe should go from the right-most vertical filtration unit, to the left hand side of the bottom horizontal filtration unit.... the pipe from the right hand side, of this bottom horizontal filtration unit, should be connected to the LEFT HAND SIDE of the TOP horizontal filtration unit....

    Hope you understand!
     
  4. jimboPE

    jimboPE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    lol quite a brain teazer will try it now.thanks man thought i would just do everything properly then spending money on crap and in the end needing to by the quality stuff anyway.
     
  5. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Good decision, Jimbo! You will NOT be sorry! Believe me!
     
  6. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    Also open up the membrane housing (the top horizontal one) and check to see if the membrane isn't still wrapped in plastic.
     
  7. jimboPE

    jimboPE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Sorry jacques but u got me there.There are three vertical and one horizontal are u talking about the pre-filter when u say the bottom horizontal unit.
     
  8. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    LOL! Sorry Jimbo..... I mis-looked..... I thought that there was 2 horizontals......

    Mine has 2 horizontals.....
    But, I would still change the pipe from the right hand side, to the left hand side.....
     
  9. jimboPE

    jimboPE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Sorry really not sure.The blue plastic should stay on hey.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    LOL Jimbo! Yes ;) It should....
    Viper meant cellophane wrapping / plastic wrapping.... ;)
     
  11. jimboPE

    jimboPE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    lol ok cool just checking.lol.
    Thanks jacques took your advice swapped the pipes around is flowing now.Looks like the one connection has a one way valve type thing.Got a face full of water when i disconnected it.lol.the pressure built up a bit.Funny the guy i bought it from connected it like that.:nono:.Is there a certain time period u should let it run for before u start using the water u think?
     
  12. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Yes, Jimbo. They say usually 30 minutes or so..... Good that it is now working for you!
     
  13. Franske

    Franske

    Joined:
    3 May 2008
    Posts:
    599
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Also flush the membrane for 3 minutes before every use,that is open the valve so the water bypasses the membrane,that is the filter on top,and btw awesome skimmer and run it the whole time you can never skim too much
     
  14. riyadhessa

    riyadhessa

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Awesome skimmer@jimboPE
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Need help unit Forum Date
light unit help needed please Lighting 21 Jun 2012
Help I need an RO unit Wanted 6 Dec 2011
DIY light unit: need help please Anything DIY Related 17 Aug 2010
Drilling ceiling help needed Anything DIY Related 22 Oct 2016
Help needed for ich Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 20 Sep 2016
need help with new tank New Members 27 Aug 2016
Help needed for my Torch coral LPS Corals 26 Aug 2016