Need help in setting up tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Orchard, 16 Jan 2010.

1. Orchard

Orchard

Hi There guys. My name ia Jacques. I am an new menber to the forum and to the marine aquariums. I have a 2m tank that i want to set up , but i have no knowledge of equipment or sistems that i would need to set up my tank. Please if anyone can help me in deciding what to get i would be very gratefull. I stay in Durbanville Cape Town so if there is anyone that wants to sell equipment that i can use please let me know . Look forward to hearing from you.
    Cheers

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Anemone

Anemone

Welcome to MASA!

Do you have an idea of what you want to keep? Soft Coral, LPS (large polyp stony), SPS (small polyp stony), or fish only? Is your tank reef ready? Did you purchase the tank new?

4. FransSny

FransSny

Welcome to MASA Jacques !

As anemone mentioned have you thought of what you will be keeping in the long run as this wil really determine what you will need. Also save you a load of $$$$$ in the long run.

2 M tank is a nice size although the equipment outlay might be a bit high (once again depends on what you want to keep)

If you are not in too much of a hurry to get things going, I will be down that side end of the month (opening Dorry Pets CPT) and more than willing to assist

BTW: what are the other dimensions of the tank ? H & W..that would give you volume thus make it able to sort you out with the correct size skimmer etc

5. Orchard

Orchard Thread Starter

I would like to keep some fish and coral. I am looking to make the tank a nice feature in my house. My tank is 2m long 500mm wide and 750mm heigh.

6. Orchard

Orchard Thread Starter