Need Advise on Connecting T5 Dual Ballast...

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Braco, 2 Oct 2011.

  1. Braco

    Braco

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    cape town
    I Have Religiously followed the diagram on the ballast connecting the T5 globes but still nothing happens any advise...it is a Quicktronic PROFESSIONAL t5 39W Dual Ballast..
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. zayd

    zayd

    Joined:
    19 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    727
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Check all connections again. Wiggle them to check if any connections are not making contact properly.
     
  4. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Could you perhaps post a pic of the diagram as well as a pic off your work if you can.
     
  5. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    In perticular where you have the 220v line connected to it.
     
  6. Braco

    Braco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    cape town
    I wiggled..and re-wired and still no go even changed the bulbs to see if that was the problem still no go i guess i will have to ditch work to sort out my lights...hey work will always be there..my coral,inverts and fish maybe not...lol
     
  7. Braco

    Braco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    cape town
    Hi i have the as i have mentioned in my original quote the Quicktronic Dual Ballast..for 39w T5..on one end it's numbered from 21 to 26 and on the other end it's numbered 1 to 3..and 3 being the Earth..i connected only one and two..no earth as the diagram say on the ballast..it seems like i need my masters in wiring a t5 ballast...
     
  8. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    @lIghty might help you get, not only that masters, but your problem solved if you post pic's. He has no idea of your level of competence and is only trying to help.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  9. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
  10. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    100% NJ, need some pics otherwise I'm flying blind.....

    Braco, upload the pics so I can try help.
     
  11. Braco

    Braco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    cape town
    hi Nemos Janitor thanks..i have uploaded some pics:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    the above images denotes my wiring as per the uploads and as per the diagram on the ballast itself.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 3 Oct 2011
  12. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Thanks Keith, it that is infact the ballast in question, then the wiring may be the problem, as the bulbs should be connected to 21 to 27! wiith all the connectors on that side being used. 1&2 being the AC input and 4 the earth, which SHOULD be connected.
     
  13. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Ok, so it not the one NJ posted..... Lets have a look.
     
  14. Braco

    Braco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    cape town
    thanks lIgthy...
     
  15. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    2 things

    1 - Can you take a clear picture of the complete ballast?

    2 - Are you using twinflex for wiring? have you checked the connections with a multimeter?

    PLEASE ENSURE YOU UNPLUG THE UNIT FROM THE MAINS WHILE TESTING!
     
  16. Braco

    Braco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    cape town
    Unfortunately that is the best i can do picture wise...the complete ballast is 360mm long have the words OSRAM Quicktronic QTP5 printed on it..i also don't have a multi meter handy..and i am using twinflex which i have striped into single wires...and yes i did unplug the unit ..safety first issue..as you can see the diagram printed on the ballast..it's marked from 21 to 26...
     
  17. Electrician24

    Electrician24

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Goodwood Cpt
    Here is th connection diagram for osram quicktronic professional qtp5[​IMG]
    Take note on left and right tips on the tube not to swop them arround.:thumbup:
     
  18. Braco

    Braco Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    cape town
    Thanks Electrician...but i require the diagram for the dual ballast ;)
     
  19. rob189

    rob189

    Joined:
    14 May 2011
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    gonubie, east london
    umm....awsum pic dude:yeahdude:

    i also had a problem the first time i wired my dual T5 unit. the lights just didnt work. Turned out that i was using the wrong wire. Apparently you must use single strand copper wire(a moerse thick strand at that) and wala it worked.

    hope it helped and that i havent said what already has been stated in previous posts :p
     
  20. Electrician24

    Electrician24

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Goodwood Cpt
  21. Electrician24

    Electrician24

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Goodwood Cpt
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Need Advise Connecting Forum Date
My first marine tank... much needed advise Beginner Discussions 21 Sep 2015
New to this- need some advise please New Members 31 Aug 2015
Pharos lighting - Coral advise needed please Lighting 9 Jun 2015
Need advise on what LEDS to buy and where to buy them? Lighting 7 Jan 2015
GoSlowJoe, new and need some advise :) New Members 17 Oct 2013
urgent advise needed General Discussions and Advice 11 Jun 2012
Serious help and advise needed General Discussions and Advice 10 Feb 2012