My "White Box" Controller

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by lIghty, 21 Sep 2008.

  1. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Hi Friends

    Thought I would share some pics and info on the tank controller I built.

    Its built around and controlled by 2x Siemens PLCs contained in a DB box for a neat appearance.

    It controls the following and not limited too. (as it can be programmed to do pretty much ANYTHING)

    Lighting

    1 channel for sump lighting
    3 independent channels for tank lighting

    with the following modes - Override "on", Delay switch off (fades light out), immediate off, Sump light override on.

    Pumps

    Controls all pumps.

    Prevents pumps running dry (Level sensors)
    Overdosing of RO water (Time management system and level sensors)
    Override on RO pump
    Feeding time (switches off pumps for a preset time for feeding)


    Temperature

    Controls tank temp to 0.1 Deg C.
    Controls any heating and cooling device.
    Starts shutting lights down at preset temp to limit heat build up.

    Other Options

    Control automatic water changes
    Control feeding
    Ph monitor / controller

    Could probably do what ever you wanted, except getting your mother-in-law to move out the house........still working on that!:lol:

    Overall view
    [​IMG]

    The Guts
    [​IMG]

    DIY Temp Probe
    [​IMG]

    Temp Probe Amplifier
    [​IMG]

    All systems go....
    [​IMG]

    LCD - Temp = 18.6 (For inside a flat in Durban, It's COLD)
    [​IMG]


    What you think? Can I leave my day job yet? :lol:
    </IMG>
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    bliksem dude!!!

    do you work for eskom?

    this is really neat, were did you learn to do this?
     
  4. lIghty

    lIghty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Thx Lanzo

    I tripped the electricity when I was 3, never been the same again;) Really not that hard, just tell it what you want it to do.
     
  5. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Awsome Justin! That is excellent!!!
     
  6. moz

    moz

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    638
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    lIghty, looking good, if you don't mind me asking whats the price of those Siemens Logo modules, and how difficult are they to use for a person with very little electronics knowledge? I am looking at doing something similar and but I've been looking at the "make controller" and the "arduino". Do you think the Siemens modules will be easier?
     
  7. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,993
    Likes Received:
    782
    Impressive. :)
     
  8. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    Very nice. Been looking at doing the same, but I think in the long run better to get ones made for the tank like the IKS. I want to put some other probes one like PH etc.
     
  9. lIghty

    lIghty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    They not that difficult to program if you have the software and a pc, if you doing it manually without software to assist... them a bit tricky. The nice thing is it can do what ever you want it to do... The PLCs start at about R1800 new, but I'm got a contact trying to get second hand.

    The brand names are great, but at a great price too.
     
  10. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN

    That is cheep. What module are u using for the temp. Was looking at a Mv for PH and other probes, but not sure if they are Mv or Ma probes. I was also looking at linking to PC so that I can log the info as I have the software for that. I have done some work for a client to make a PLC wireless and it works GR8.
     
  11. lIghty

    lIghty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    I made the Temp Probe, its a liniar IC (10mv/C), and used a 10 fold amp to get the PLC to register the 0.1 deg C res. But you would be able to use a Mv or Ma sensor, just if you use a Ma you would have to include a Ma to MA converter.
     
  12. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    You seem to know quite a lot about PLC's, do you think you will be able to get a PH or one of the other probes to work.
     
  13. Tang777

    Tang777

    Joined:
    13 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durban
    Hi Guys doing the same set up using same PLC i will control lighting temp and much everything else a powerful PLC.Looking at putting a screen on my system with all the read outs and info from the PLC PH, Temp etc how do you attach the photos
     
  14. lIghty

    lIghty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Quite posible, but you need a PLC with a analog input. do you have one, if so what make/model?
     
  15. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    Ok see you put under Other Option, Ph monitor / controller. So when you doing this.

    Just wondering I see you are controlling you lights so the PLC has a RTC. How many I/O's does it have?
     
  16. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    I have only played around with a Mitsubishi plc, done very little programming.

    Can't you get a analog module for the siemans plc.
     
  17. lIghty

    lIghty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Not fimiliar with the Mitsubishi. Some of the Siemens have analog inputs and some not, requiring an extra module.
     
  18. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    Guys can we talk english please? Very cool white box Justin! I can think of few other cool marine things i could be surprised find in a box, oh, wait, i can;)
     
  19. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I second that scubaninja!!:baffled: Very cool thread, once i figure out what you guys are on about i'll attempt to build my own too...:razz:
     
  20. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    WOW! lIghty - you REALLY are HANDY! HHhhhmm - now - I also always wanted one of THOSE toys..... but - not yet meant to be!

    Nice one man!
     
  21. Andreas

    Andreas

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    :lol: i'll give you some :peroni: and then you show me how to build one:lol:

    how long did it take you to build this one?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - White Controller Forum Date
Live rock changing white General Discussions and Advice 22 Nov 2016
Algae on white part of acropora SPS Corals 13 Sep 2016
Sps turning white SPS Corals 16 Aug 2016
white spot treatment that works Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 13 Aug 2016
Urgent help needed cream angel white spot Urgent Help Needed 8 Aug 2016
My Regal Tang has white spots Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 23 Jul 2016
White patch on clownfish Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 23 Jul 2016