My oceanic 100 Gallon Corner Pentagon

Discussion in 'New Members' started by mrogers1970, 17 Feb 2010.

Voter count: 0
?

Does my setup look good? Will it stay good?

1. Yes. Just dumb luck.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Maybe your on to sumthin

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. mrogers1970

mrogers1970

Hope I am doing O.K.

This is my first try at a reef tank. It has been up and running for about 6 months.

2 False Percula clowns
    1 Brittle star
    3 peppermint shrimp
    20 snails
    20 asst. hermits
    ?? pistol shrimp (i hear a clicking now and then)

Hope to move on to some corals
    a manderin and some other really cool looking reef life.

I cycled the tank with
    50 lbs live sand
    50 lbs live rock

I have a wet dry filter, a protein skimmer, three power heads, a cannister filter.

I have one 250W DE metal halide 20k, one 250W SE metal halide 10K, one 70w metal halide 10K and four 65W compact flourescent actinic lights.

Right now I am getting some great growth on my live rock, I can see some great corraline algae, lots of fan worms, a lot of copepods, gastropods and tons of stuff that I can only see with a microscope ocular.

My question is when should I move on to buying some frags and what should I start with?

Also, I would like to get an anemone for my clowns. They are a mating pair and I would like to give them a plce to make a home for their babies. What type should I get and when?

Also in these pictures I have some things I don't know what they are can you help?

Thanks,
    A super newbie. Dedicated though. I spend hours with my magnifier checking out the new life.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: 17 Feb 2010
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

welcome to MASA

sounds like a wicked setup, have you got pics?

here are my suggestions

4. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor