My New TL 550

Discussion in 'Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice' started by Dre, 9 Mar 2013.

1. Dre

Dre

Hi everyone I am officially the owner of a new TL 550. I also got 6kg of sand and three pieces of live rock (6Kg). The tank is standard and I am an extreme newbie.

I was told to put the sand and live rock in with the water which I have done and to run for six weeks?

Now which equipment do I leave on and which do I leave off? I have everything off now to help the sand to settle in the water because the visibility is not good.

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. mornewil

mornewil Morne

Hey and welcome to the Boyu Clan.

U can switch on everything while your tank cycles.
    I would suggest getting all your live rock now and adding it.
    What have you got in your back compartment for filtration?
    Post some pics.

4. ShaunSwindon

ShaunSwindon

Hi and welcome :thumbup:

Some pics would be great please.

It sounds like the sand is being agitated by a powerhead perhaps?

Anyways dont stress and be patient. That will bring the best results ;)

5. Tiger eye

Tiger eye

Glad you desided on a TL550 that is a nice size tank to start with.

6. Dre

Dre Thread Starter

@Shaun what is a powderhead? Sorry im a newbie

I left everything standard.
    The first section has the sponge filters
    The second section has the skimmer
    The third has bags of white things ( Again Newbie ha ha ) with six plastic balls
    The last one has the pump and the heater. Also with four plastic balls

Is that ok?

How do I sort out the merky water? Do i just let it settle?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  7. jaquesdp08

jaquesdp08

HI, the water will settle with time,

1: Take out the bioballs because they are not recommened for Saltwater..
    2: you can leave the sponges but try to clean then weekly,because they can contribute to water problems later on..