My new marine tank

Discussion in 'Nano Tanks' started by Completebeginner, 23 Mar 2011.

1. Completebeginner

Completebeginner

Hi everyone, I'm very new to marine tanks. I bought a second hand boyu tl 550 and I am starting this tread to show the progress of setting it up. Because of work commitments it will be the weekend before I start to set it up properly.I have been informed and have picked up from reading the forum that you all love pictures so I will have them up asap.once I do I will need as much help and guidance as you have to give. I'm looking forward to getting started. Thanks Jamie :peroni::1:

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. leslie hempel

leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

i see you situated in ireland, when i was over there they had some awsome livestock. smallest yellow tangs i had ever seen. im sure you are in for a quality experience.

enjoy.

4. maxisoft

maxisoft

Welcome... Looking forward to seeing the pics...:thumbup:

5. Completebeginner

Completebeginner Thread Starter

Hi guys I bought my tank second hand so plan on giving it a good clean before I do anything. Would it be advisable to buy all new sponges etc for my filter so I'm starting from scratch. Also, I plan to start by adding sand and water and allowing to settle for a couple of days, could anyone recommend a type/grade of sand

Thanks, Jamie

6. Completebeginner

Or is there anything else anyone can think of that I should or should not do prior to adding water , Jamie

7. chikaboo

chikaboo

Hi there and welcome to MASA .... Great to see you starting up .... I would suggest even before the sand goes in and after you have the tank in its final resting place (thats after you gave it a good clean) to do a complete leak test ..... this will save you alot of heartache and effort .... As for sand try to like sugar fine sand ... BTW ... is this for the tank itself or are you planning a DSB (deep sand bed) in a sump of sorts ...

8. Completebeginner