My New Build

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Bonezzz, 21 Nov 2010.

  1. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    :)

    This is just a rough sketch of my tank im planning on building, it a Cube, 800X800X700 High. would really appreciate imput of what should change/add.

    Thanks alot[​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    the inlet is 20mm and is on the left hand side, 10mm under water line
     
  4. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    I would make the overflow coast to coast for better surface skimming and lift the water level to 650.
     
    Last edited: 22 Nov 2010
  5. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    14,543
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    nice skills there,

    looks fine to me, are you going rimless? hence no bracing pictured?

    as for the overflow the more surface skimming the better. what is your intended glass thisckness you are going to be using?
     
  6. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    there will be euro brace, its just a rough sketch, im using 10mm glass with black silicone.
     
  7. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    14,543
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    cool, what black silicone have you decided on?
     
  8. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    not sure hey leslie, suggestions?
     
  9. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Personally I think 700mm is too high for a tank of that size. In order to get your aquascape high enough you need to use way too much live rock which just wastes fish swimming space. Rather go 600mm high, my new tank is only 500mm high.
     
  10. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    was also thinking that, thanks
     
  11. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    600mm High is also the perfect for working in the tank. 700mm high for me means I have to get my whole arm wet to touch the bottom.
     
  12. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    ill go 600 high, water level 550?
     
  13. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Thats exactly how my 900 x 900 cube was. What lights are you planning on using?
     
  14. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    at the moment, 8 t5 39w. that ok?
     
  15. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Thats perfect, the reason I asked was that 800mm x 800mm is a strange size. 39W T5 units are 900mm long. Why don't you go for a 900mm x 900mm cube.
     
  16. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    or maybe ill go 900X800X600(H)
     
  17. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    Thats a good idea. Would work perfectly with 8 39W T5's.
     
  18. Junz

    Junz

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rustenburg
    Thats an awesome size tank
     
  19. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    nope, unless your sump can handle that.
     
  20. Bonezzz

    Bonezzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    ok, what size should it be RiaanP?
     
  21. Manic

    Manic Moderator

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Edenvale
    20mm is fine, the problem is that when your power fails that 10mm of water is going to go into your sump. My return is 50mm under water but I've done some cleaver plumping so that it breaks the siphon.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Build Forum Date
Cabinet Builder - midrand/kyalami General Discussions and Advice 25 Nov 2016
Tank Builder Anything DIY Related 17 Nov 2016
[wtd] Tank Builder Cape Town Wanted 15 Nov 2016
2000x600x600 DIY Tank Build Beginner Discussions 11 Nov 2016
The tank build Medium Tanks 22 Oct 2016
The shallow reef tank build is here... Members Systems and Setups 16 Oct 2016
New acrylic build!!! Beginner Discussions 14 Aug 2016