My new 5foot

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Reepher, 28 Aug 2016.

1. Reepher

Reepher

Hi all as I am new to reefkeeping I need advice on my new setup I will be running a 5foot with a 5foot sump I have a skimmer dsb and 35kgs live rock and 50ks aragonite what other equipment or additives will I need to start with as I had gone to my lps and the guy tried to sell me every bottle on the shelf I wana keep as simple as possible I want to keep corals but nothing to
    demanding want to keep hardy corals if that exists I've kept fish only before and didn't do to bad any advice will be appreciated

Ps I would like to start my cycle soon as I'm waiting for my carpenter to start my cupboards for this tank

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. TaahirS

TaahirS MASA Contributor

Lights, return pump, possibly Seachem stability if you want to speed up the cycle. A RO machine or you could buy RO water from the lfs.

tekkengal likes this.
  4. Reepher

Reepher Thread Starter

Got a return n lights wanted to wat I need I term of reactors and supliments

5. TaahirS

TaahirS MASA Contributor

You can keep it simple for now. It's not necessary to have reactors and to dose supplements, especially if you're keeping hardy corals.

But probably the most basic things to put in a reactor are carbon or a phosphate removing media.

Supplements you won't need if you're keeping a few soft corals, just regular waterchanges. But one you have a lot of corals you might want to start monitoring calcium and alkalinity and add those supplements if you see them dropping.

EFJ likes this.
  6. EFJ

EFJ MASA Contributor