my first tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by hurst, 10 Sep 2009.

1. hurst

hurst

Hi everyone, I am new to marine, and I am going to set up a tank within a month or so, still doing the research needed. If anyone has suggestions, feel free!

I am thinking of going small at first, don't want to spend my life savings (which is not very much...I am 17 ;))on a complete flop. I've kept tropical ever since I had my 6th birthday.

I had this in mind:
    display 326 L (w600 x h450 x l900)
    cabinet from cherry wood
    2 metal halide lights (suggestions?)
    2 T5 (suggestions?)
    sump 60 L (too small?)
    don't really know what else I need, I'll get the quote in 2 hrs then I'll know!
    going for DSB

I intend keeping: (suggestions and advice?)

3 regal tangs
    1 copper band butterfly
    3 clowns
    2 Damsels (blue)

live rock from Fiji
    and some soft corals.

If you have advice, I already appreciate it!

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. seank

seank

[​IMG]

4. Tony

Tony

Hello and welcome. Three regals will get too big for your tank very fast. For your lighting you could go for two 150W 10000K halides with T5 actinics to balance the colours

5. Renannchen

Renannchen

Welcome, Three regals? Why? Blue damsels get very agro, try and get a bigger sump with alot of space, for skimmer etc. Go with 14000k mh, its the better colour the 10000k is a bit white! Get as big a system as you can aford and get the best skimmer that you can buy, go for something like a Ts 3 or 4, and remember this hobby wil bite, and then you wil be hooked, no use in trying to go with a buget, its going to cost you more then what you expect! Good luck and welcome, this is the best hobby in the world and you are at the right place!

6. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator

Welcome to MASA Hurst, glad you joined before starting the tank as we just might have saved you from buying something you don't need :p