My First SW 1.2

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by AquaBoy, 3 May 2013.

1. AquaBoy

AquaBoy

Hi MASA

I am starting my first SW Tank and would really appreciate it if everyone on MASA can be part of it and if you can guide me in setting up a top notch setup which can be loved and enjoyed.

Some Background on me:

I have been in love with the fish hobby since I was 10 years old. I cannot remember a time that I did not have a FW tank in my possession and a time that I did not have some species of fish.

Although I have been considering a SW Tank for the last 4 years due to the beauty and other reasons I could never push myself to do it. In the beginning it was due to financial limitations and at the end it was because everyone was warning me how difficult it could be.:eek:
    Unluckily I lost my FW setup due to damage while moving to a new place this year (Note to self: in future move tank myself).:(

Current Tank:

Thanks to my loving wife I got an early present this year and she bought me a +-350L Marine Tank which I hope will work for what is required to host marine life (Size = 1200mm (L) x 470mm (W) x 700mm (H)).:yeahdude:

Knowledge of SW setups:

I think the best is to just say I know nothing about SW aquariums :blush: except for what I have read up on the MASA forum in the last 2 weeks since I joined and would therefore appreciate all help in regards to the following questions:

• What equipment to buy?
    • What sand at the bottom?
    • Is the current Sump going to work as it was custom build by someone else?
    • How does a sump work and what to put into it?
    • And probably many more questions as we go along.

I have an idea on some equipment I like but I am not sure if it will work.

This will be a joint hobby between my wife and I and we would very much like to go with a reef tank setup. :thumbup: