My first Marine tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Dragonet, 18 Sep 2009.

1. Dragonet

Dragonet

Hi All

I have been here for some time now, but have been reading and following some of the threads in the back ground and most of all I have been learning from you all.

I have also been setting up my first Marine Tank, but I am not new to the game as I have been keeping fresh water tanks for about 20 years, hence the reason for taking my time to do things right the first time.

I have attached a number of pics of my tank now that I am finnished the building.

Now all I need to do is start filling and running the tank.

Please, if you guys can see anything that I may have done incorrectly please let me know so that I can rectify it before I start the filling process.

I hope this works???

[​IMG]

Here the Tank is finnally complete (Tank size is lenght 1500mm x width 450mm x deep 450mm) Holds around 290 L with the sump a total of around 380 L.

[​IMG]

This is the inside of the cabinet showing the sump, that will have a deep sand bed and live rock.

[​IMG]

My Reef Octopus Protien Skimmer all piped in with a by pass to be able to adjust the flow through the skimmer.

[​IMG]

I have piped in a UV Filter which is conected to a 1000L/Hr Pump which returns water to the display tank, I also have a second pump returning water to the tank at a rate of 2000L/Hr which doesn't pass through the UV Filter.

You can also see the plug arrangement above the UV Filter this is done so that I can un plug and replace anything if it should go faulty in the future without having to try and get in behind the tank when it is full.

[​IMG]

The only pump that I have in the tank is a wave maker (Resun 15000)

[​IMG]

I have 2 x 3Ft Reef white 10000 T5 tubes and 2 x 3ft Reef blue T5 tubes I also have 2 x 4Ft Life Glo T5 Tubes and 2 x 4Ft Marine Glo T5 Tubes.

[​IMG]