My first marine tank

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by marinenoob, 3 Aug 2009.

1. marinenoob

marinenoob

Hi,

I have just emptied my Juwel rio 240 tropical tank to make it into a marine. I am new to the whole marine setup. I have just yesterday emptied my tropical tank and using the std filtration added crushed coral and marine salt. How long should this run before i can add live rock and fish and no coral for the meantime? Do i need a protein skimmer and powerflow heads if i only intend on putting like two fish and maybe a crab or two? if so what is the best fit skimmer for a juwel rio 240?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Prodigy

Prodigy

Welcome and yes plz add in live rock it will help your cycle do not add fish or corals in yet... got any pics of your system pics will tell us alot about your system...

4. Jaak

Jaak

I take it you're not going to be putting in a sump? How many litres is your display tank? What kind of budget do you have? If you are going to be putting in a sump there are quite a few in sump skimmers you can choose from, look in the classifieds you can pick up a Reefoctopus for a good price usually. Some of the other brands are a lot more expensive but the do an unbelievable job. Otherwise you can get a hang-on skimmer from Reefoctopus, they do a very good job.

5. riyadhessa

riyadhessa

Any chance of posting a pic of your tank?

6. marinenoob

marinenoob Thread Starter

Hi guys,

Thanks for the response. My budget is not great so for now i'm doing one bit at a time. I don't think i want to add a sump at this stage maybe later. I am having problems with uploading photos but as soon as i get it right i will. Is a skimmer a nessecity immediately as i would like to make the right choice this time round?

7. Jaak

Jaak

If you're going to have fish in the tank, I would say absolutely! If nothing in the tank will create a bio load then you can get away with weekly water changes. How many L's is your tank?

8. marinenoob