My cube to be

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by dean, 9 Aug 2010.

1. dean

dean

Hey all. Ive been in the hobby for about 2 years now and im loving it!! Ive been on the forum for a while but i dont post often.[​IMG] I just read everything on the forum and would like to thank everyone on here for making it so usefull and interesting.

Ive decided that im going to go for a sps dominated cube. As im a student i dont have alot of $$$ to go for a automated system with a calcium reactor and the works, ill be manually dosing calcium and keep my alk in check.. I know that this takes more of a reefers time to manually dose a system but like i said im a student and have loads of time to do just that.[​IMG]

My system will be 800 by 800 by 650 which will bring the water level to 600. This gives me a total volume of 384 litres. Im going to make my stand a little bit higher than a normal stand as im a tallish chap and dont like bending to see my little critters doing their thing. Ill have black silicon and a rimless design.
    As for lighting im contemplating going for a 250 watt 20 000k MH suspended over the tank. I dont want to supplement it with T5s as I think this will be good enough???
    As for the filtration, im going to use my current TS2 and im going to transfer my ATS over to the new tank. Ive got loads of live rock and about 15 SPS frags waiting for the new tank.
    Im going to order the tank in a couple of days and the MH unit as well. (Frans will come to you during the week)

What i want to know from you knowledgeable folks here on the forum is do you think the light will be adequate enough for SPS corals and if you have any other suggestions???

Thanks so much.
    Dean
    Ps ill post pictures as soon as the new tank and goodies arrive as i know you are pic mad[​IMG]

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. FransSny

FransSny