My cube so far

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Nemo84, 2 Dec 2014.

  1. Nemo84

    Nemo84

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    Hi Masa
    I bought a cube from kingfish on the forum.
    This is what ive done thus far.
    Im planning on having a mixed reef with alot of sps .
    Filtration will mainly be live rock, skimmer thing of a bio reactor but not sure if necessary?
    Lighting will be 2 x 10000k actinics 2 x 15000k actinics and a metal halide in the centre. Im planning to fit 4 x cooling fans in the unit as well.
    Im planning to fit some lights with cooling fans over the sump .

    I will only start the tank up in mid February after our wedding and once we've settled into our new place.
    I'll post pics as i go please be patient.
    Dropbox - 20141115_101222.jpg
    Dropbox - 20141115_101302.jpg
    Dropbox - 20141124_064913 (1).jpg
    Dropbox - 20141201_170830.jpg
    look forward to your opinions.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    No comments
     
  4. Nsteyn

    Nsteyn

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2009
    Posts:
    835
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Very neat and clean. Like it. Pics a bit difficult to view through dropbox. May be why the lack of comments. Looking forward to some updates ;)
     
  5. Daryl Norton

    Daryl Norton

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2013
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Looks good
     
  6. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    Im not sure if i must redo my sump? Atm it has a big inlet chamber , small liverock chamber and small return chamber. Looking at a very lo budget filtration. Not sure if a dsb is an option ? Tank size is 80cm x 60cm x 54cm
    Sump is 70cm x 50 cm x 50 cm
     
  7. birkettN

    birkettN Nathan

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    265
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Cape Town
  8. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    A DSB is an option. Just make the first chamber as small as possible, but still allowing you to remove the skimmer completely while under the tank.

    Return chamber can be smaller, especially if you got an ATU.
    Running a deeper water volume in all the chambers do allow for more water in last chamber for evaporation in case of the ATU deciding not to work.

    I prefer to make the water level deep, and if needed, will put the skimmer on some little stand.

    Alternative is Seachem Matrix. I recently started to use that on a TL550, and I'm very impressed. Matrix do not need that big a chamber as a DSB, but the design would be different. Better to have the Matrix in a flow through chamber instead of a flow over like a DSB.
     
  9. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    Think I'll re do the sump and go the dsb route.

    How many flow pumps do you need in a cube ?
     
  10. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    why?

    Anyhow, Looks really good.
     
    Last edited: 20 Jan 2015
  11. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    sorry missed your last post. lol. Sounded like you were done/gatvol before you started.

    Nah really it looks real clean and fresh with \out the tralalala
     
  12. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    If i go the dsb route i have and area of 380 x 480 with the height of sand being 250mm and water height above sand will be 150mm . Will this be enough to run a dsb ?
     
  13. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    that works out to 38% of the display footprint.

    Can work. Although bigger would be better. It also depends on your stocking list and how fast you add new fish.
    By not overstocking and by adding new fish only every second week and the DSB would be able to keep up.

    Smallest DSB in relation to tank I run at some point was 33%.
     
  14. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    If i go the matrix way how will it work , how or what do i need to do ?
     
  15. TaahirS

    TaahirS MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Cape Town (southern suburbs)
    Seachem recommend using it in a canister filter but I sure there are other ways.
    Maybe in a well aerated sump compartment.
     
  16. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    Another idea i had for my sump . Is to have the inlet chamber with skimmer , 2nd chamber I'll have ceramic noodles then 3rd chamber id have some liverock then return chamber.
    Not sure how well this would work ?
     
  17. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    I'm using Seachem in a plastic little bucket. Works great and easy to remove. Water flows through it.

    Depends on your sump.
    Better picture please so that we can see what your sump looks like.
     
  18. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
  19. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Just use the Matrix in a plastic basket. Those from Plasticland with all the holes in them.
     
  20. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    Do i just place it in the sump RiaanP ?
     
  21. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,161
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    yes you can, some guys do it like that, other float the tub, or have a sump dedicated with a matrix portion.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - cube Forum Date
200 L cube - starting over after move Beginner Discussions 29 Nov 2016
[wtd] 60cm cube wanted Wanted 23 Nov 2016
[wtd] Led's for 60cm cube Wanted 10 Sep 2016
Help planning shallow mixed reef cube Medium Tanks 3 Sep 2016
Bio-cubes vs bio-pellets???? Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 31 Aug 2016
200 L cube 8 month old New Members 29 Aug 2016
[wtd] 1m Cube Stand Wanted 25 Aug 2016