My Copperbanded butterflyfish

Discussion in 'Marine Fish Discussions' started by viper357, 20 Jun 2011.

1. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Just thought I would share my Copperbanded butterflyfish, ever since I have been keeping marine tanks I have wanted one of these fish, I bought one when I was a newbie and had no idea about their reputation as being difficult feeders, needless to say it died, only to learn afterwards about what difficult fish they were, I think it took me almost 3 years before I managed to find one that I was happy to buy...

I was glad I managed to find one that eats frozenfoods, before I bought him I asked the LFS to feed the tank he was in with brine shrimp, he went straight for the food and didn't spit it out so I knew I at least had a chance, he was eating frozen foods already so the battle was half won. Gladly once in my tank he continued and he now eats enriched brine shrimp, frozen mysis and frozen krill, I've had him probably about 2 years now, he survived a small disaster when my tank temp dropped to 11 degrees Celsius, transferred him to another bigger tank with more rock and he seems very happy.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. butcherman

butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

a stunner viper

4. ziyaadb

ziyaadb

i love this fish!!!!!!

5. SIMS

SIMS

I have one in QT

6. crispin

crispin

thats a beautiful specimin viper, congrats on a great fish i hope he does well with ya :)

7. viper357

viper357 Thread Starter Admin MASA Contributor

Thanks guys, this fish has pretty much been the holy grail of fish for me ever since I started the hobby, the one thing that was always in my mind whenever I visited an LFS was to find a CBB that was eating frozen foods. He's my absolute favourite fish in the tank and I talk to him every day.:)

8. butcherman

butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

what's his name? :p

9. viper357

Don't laugh, it's Goldie, because of his golden bands.

10. Yuri

Yuri