My BoyuTL550

Discussion in 'New Members' started by StrayTang, 1 Nov 2014.

1. StrayTang

StrayTang

Hello Ladies and Gents

so i am new to the Marine scene (LOVE IT SO FAR)

i was one of those "aaahhh noo ways its just to much work" pffft... my planted fresh water tank gave me nothing but trouble hahaha...

so i went small for my first Marine system, i got my self a highly recommended BOYU tl 550 the new spec LED one.

then that tank stood empty for about 3 months, while i scoured the internet and spoke to any person i could find regarding how to, what to, when to etc...

Eventually, the day came when i took the plunge.

firstly i tried my best with the space to BULLET proof the filter chambers.

Inlet 1. Black standard Sponge and FLUVAL Pre-Filter Rings
    2. Standard Skimmer and Heater
    3. Fluval BioMax, Bioballs, ½ kg Live rock, Fluval ClearMax, Ceramic Rings
    Outlet 4. Boyu UV Filter, Standard Pump leading into the Spray Bar into the tank

it has been running now for 7 months,
    started with just substrate and 6kg of Blue Fiji live rock,

that ran for about 5 weeks,
    then i added another 6kg of live rock, and once the water had cleared up,
    i put in some CUC,

1 blue leg hermit,
    1 brown leg hermit,
    3 Turbo snails,
    2 cleaner shrimp,
    and a Spiny Lobster(Blue)

after a few days, i put in my 2 prize posetions, a gorgeous mated pair of Ocellaris Clowns,(Bonnie & Clyde)

i was so scared to add anything else to the tank but after a month or so, constantly checking water parameters,

i decided to put in a few corals, i went with,
    a green mushroom, frogspawn, star polyps, and a Kenyan tree,

after about another month,
    i added:
    a Royal Dottyback(very small one)
    a small yellow tang
    and 2 lyre tail Anthias

and after another month or so
    added the last of my corals:
    Elegance, Torch, Clam, 2 brains and a Hammer

this is how the tank looks today,
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]